We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I have just stayed for two nights at this hotel which we booked through great little breaks this included two nights bed and breakfast,mince pies and hot mulled wine on arrival, three course evening meal on the first night and two tickets for chatsworth house which had its xmas theme of the lion the witch and the wardrobe all for £158.
We added this trip on to a trip to york and Harrogate to help break up the journey from Devon and I am so pleased we did. The sat nav took us straight to the hotel no problems the reception staff were very friendly on arrival. And quickly booked us into a our room which was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was also spacious and well fitted out. The only thing with the room was that it was a little to hot in the night even though I had turned the radiator off but I then left the window open which helped even though the nights out side were cold. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent but we did find the breakfast only warm and the eggs overcooked this was due to them being under a heat lamp. The bar area was very good and the batman friendly. The only other little comment was on checkout our bill stated that we had eaten in the restaurant on both nights which was incorrect as on the second night we went into the city centre. However the receptionist only had one receipt for the first night so she soon corrected this. It just shows we should always check our bills before leaving. Overall the hotel which was built in the 1860s is a nice little find and the staff very friendly we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 320 even though it was a little hot in the evenings we would ask for this room aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISCA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear ISCA13
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay, liked your room and found the staff very friendly. We were also pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal in the restaurant. However, we were perturbed that you were disappointed with breakfast and we would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will of course discuss your comments with our Chef.
We do hope that you will get the opportunity at some point in the future to come and stay with us again when we can assure you of our best attention at all times.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    364
    177
    78
    38
See reviews for
176
320
51
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
259 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Difficult to find- the quoted satnav post code does not take you specifically to the hotel. Arrived about 11pm. Not particularly friendly welcome and difficult to get 3 rooms co located. Whilst the bathrooms of the standRd rooms have been nicely upgraded, the rooms feel fairly basic. Breakfast was fine- good choice buffet. Charged for parking but useful to be able to park easily and we got a taxi to the centre of town. The HiEx sister hotel is on the same complex and looked more modern.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear philosIsleofMan
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and liked our refurbished bathrooms. We are currently undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment to all our rooms and public areas. We were sorry to read your comments regarding your experience on arrival as we normally receive very positive feedback regarding the friendliness of our reception staff. We also pride ourselves in providing great value for money and car parking is discounted to £5.00 for 24 hours parking for hotel residents which makes us the cheapest of most of the hotels in the centre of Sheffield. Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope you will get the opportunity to stay with us again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRIMSBY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My family and my elderly mother stayed at the hotel night prior to our daughters graduation. Hotel staff could not be more helpful, extremely friendly. Hotel full of character and executive room was lovely. Very clean and warm, great size and comfy beds. Close to town centre. Cannot wait to visit again. Also breakfast was plentiful and of a good standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSIELEE64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Rosielee64
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we all hope that you get the chance to stay again in the not too distant future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked a 2-night Gourmet Chatsworth Break including dinner with a bottle of wine on the first night – and of course 2 tickets to Chatsworth House and gardens, through Great Little Breaks for just £158 for two people. We are great fans of mini-breaks as it lets us sample where we like (and where we don’t) for future booking purposes. Some 4-star hotels we have stayed in recently have flattered to deceive and were no more than style over substance but the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria in Sheffield delivered everything promised and a lot more. Our room was small yet totally adequate with a big comfy bed and a choice of firm or soft pillows whilst the bathroom was very stylish complete with Villeroy and Bosch fittings. The food from Cunningham’s restaurant was well cooked to order and well presented. The service from restaurant manager Sai and his young enthusiastic team made this a mini break to remember and we’ll undoubtedly return. An old but well-maintained Victorian hotel with an impressive façade situated on a roundabout in the town centre . Tip: Ignore the postcode for SatNav purposes and follow the Hotel’s own directions to avoid a rather bizarre approach by car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Ken S

Thank you very much for your review, we were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your mini break here at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria in Sheffield and liked our historic old hotel. Please be assured that we will pass on your kind comments to Sai and indeed all the staff who work very hard to try and make your stayat the hotel as pleasurable as possible. We do hope that you will get the opportunity to stay with us again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Have stayed here in three occasions and not been disappointed x old fashioned hospitality with all the modern comfort you'd expect this hotel offers a step back in time with cosy rooms and excellent service bit of a walk into town centre and not the most pleasant of walks so book a taxi and enjoy your stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthYorkshireMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear SouthYorkshireMum
Thank you very much for your review. We were pleased to read that you enjoy staying at our hotel and have indeed done so on a few occasions now. We will certainly pass on your kind comments to the staff who strive very hard to provide the level of product and service that you had experienced. Once again, many thanks for your comments and we do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria at some point in the future when I can assure you of our best attention at all times.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

visited last weekend lovely looking building with loads of character but front of house staff could have been more pleasant, but any how the rooms wasn't to bad although tired and had to laugh when removing the towels for a shower when the towel rad wasn't actually plumbed in at all nor wired in ha ho perhaps they over looked that when they refitted the bath rooms. And couldn't use the main bars all weekend as they had private events taking place witch seemed to take priority over us normal guests. over all wasn't to bad but wouldn't rush to return

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Carl H
Thank you very much for your review. We were sorry to learn that although you liked our characterful hotel, you had been a little disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We apologise that the Grand Lounge was not available for you to use during your stay. On occasions when we have a large function in the Ballroom the Grand Lounge area is used by the function guests and we provide the Cocktail Bar for our residents to ensure that that they still receive good service. We do hope that you will stay at the hotel again if you are in the Sheffield area. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay here, love the history of the building. The room had a big comfy bed and nice big towels. We didn't realise that there are still smoking rooms in hotels! We booked one by accident so needless to say our room had a stale smoke smell which wasn't very pleasant so bear this in mind when booking! The doors in the hotel are a nightmare! They must be fire doors so whenever someone on your corridor enters or leaves their rooms the door slams with an almighty boom! There was about 20-25 rooms in our corridor so we didn't get much sleep Sunday morning! There was a function going on in the main bar so we had drinks in the "Cocktail bar" it was a nice room but very cold! Breakfast isn't included but can be purchased for £12.50pp. The staff were friendly but I wouldn't stay here again simply because of the noisy corridors and earthshaking doors!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Emma W
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased that you liked our historic old hotel and found your bed comfy. We do still have 6 smoking rooms left in the hotel and we are sorry that you booked one in error, however, we are sure that if you had mentioned this to reception they would have done their best to find you an alternative non-smoking room. We also apologise if you were disturbed by noise from a fire door. This certainly should not have been the case and we have already asked our Property Manager to investigate and take any remedial action necessary. We do hope that you will take the opportunity to stay with us again the next time you are in the area and when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
2,209 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Property: Holiday Inn Sheffield
Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing