We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect place to family holiday”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location, excellent customer service, helpful and friendly staff.
Awesome foods. If you are travelling the Holiday Inn is a good place to stay.
I will stay here ones again when I come to Sheffield.

Room Tip: The rooms are very quiet and peaceful beautiful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sampath S

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your family trip and you found our hotel perfect for your family.

I was pleased to read that you will return on your next visit Sheffield and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    369
    181
    79
    40
See reviews for
183
324
51
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Holiday Inn Royal Victoria in Sheffield was an amazing venue. The staff were very helpful, kind and organised. Great location for city centre. Great Food, Great Hotel Events Team.

Package designed to our requirements, room decorated beautifully, Photographer and an amazing DJ!!!. Will come back next year for our reunion.

Thank you Holly!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Anna W

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you found our venue amazing. As a hotel we can hold dinners,evening balls and weddings for up to 300 people in our Ballroom. We pride ourselves in the quality and effort we put into our events held at the hotel.

I will pass on your comments to Holly out special events co coordinator.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for your reunion.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Needed a few days break to rest and recuperate and this hotel exceeded our requirements. The hotel is situated in the centre of Sheffield, although far from the maddening crowd. Travelling by car from Lincolnshire, we had no difficulty in finding the Royal Victoria. Going up the drive towards the hotel entrance you quickly leave the hustle and bustle of city life behind and enter the opulence of the Victorian age. There was ample parking to the front and side of the hotel and within a short walking distance of the front entrance. The architecture of the building, both in and out, was truly stunning. We were made very welcome, on arrival, by very professional and courteous staff and quickly relaxed into the very comfortable historic surroundings. Be sure to book afternoon tea in the lounge area, extremely good value and if it is not in use make time to view the banqueting room. The breakfast certainly sets you up for the day and offers a superb choice of food, not to be missed. I thoroughly recommend the set three course evening meal, which offers a variety of food on each course to suit all palates and again is of excellent value. For the keen shopper the city centre is within 10 minutes walking distance from where you can also catch a tram to Meadow Hall. The highlight of our stay was a trip to Chatsworth House, which is 30 minutes driving time from the hotel. The day out was excellent value for money and catered for all age groups. We enjoyed the grounds, which were vast and had many beautiful walks with continually changing landscapes. Don't miss it. We came for rest and recuperation and because of the beautiful and comfortable surroundings of the hotel and professional and friendly staff, we left fully refreshed. Thank you all!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear John V

Thank for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria.

As a hotel we are situated just out of the city centre which benefits us in very little noise but we are still only a short walk into the centre of Sheffield.

I was delighted to read that your enjoyed your breakfast and it set you up for your day trip to Chatsworth house.

I was pleased to read your comments about how you found the hotel stunning, as a Grade II listed property the hotel has many period features throughout the hotel. We strive to ensure we keep the heritage of the property but still offer all modern conveniences such as flat screen televisions in all of our bedrooms.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Sheffield.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a Great Little Breaks Chatsworth deal. We were offered a choice of rooms, we chose the larger room but were warned it may be noisy as there was a party that night - we didn't hear it. The room was spacious with two double beds which is a treat in a twin room, the beds were really comfy with good bedding and a choice of pillows. The only gripe about the room was not being able to open the window more than an inch, we were on the third floor but a few more inches would have been nice as it was a hot day. The food was ok. Staff were excellent with the receptionist giving us good advice about places to visit in the area, Hardwick Hall is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Camdor

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel with our Chatsworth package.

It is always extra special to read when guests comment on how excellent the staff have been during their visit and I shall be passing these comment onto the team.

I do hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Sheffield.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked this hotel on the morning of our stay and so there was limited availability for hotels in the area. We therefore decided to take a chance having read mixed reviews of the hotel.
Upon arrival we were taken aback at what a stunning old building it was. Check in was seamless and the reception staff were really friendly and helpful. Our family room was located in what looked like a more modern annexe adjoining the original building - there were two immensely comfortable double beds, plenty of room and a gorgeous bathroom. The room was spotless.
Breakfast was great with a good choice of quality food that we all enjoyed. We would definitely visit again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Vicki W

Thank you for review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria.

I was pleased to read how you had a lovely stay with us. I was delighted to read how you found our reception staff both helpful and friendly and I shall be passing these comments onto the team.

I appreciated to read that you found the building stunning, as a Grade II listed building we strive to keep its heritage and period features.

Thank you once again for your review.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just the one night. Lovely old fashioned hotel, decor a little tired in places but the staff and location make up for it! Having stayed at many hotels in Sheffield over the past 10 years this one offers a little bit more luxury and is in a quiet location. Breakfast choice was vast, only thing to complain about was that they forgot to deliver my paper in the morning but the reception staff would have gone out to get me one! Very good value and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Jess H

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you found your stay with us both comfortable and pleasant. I would like to apologise that you didn't receive your morning paper and I will look into this with the reception team.

I have noted your comments on the décor and we are currently in the process of renovation in the public areas with new bar furniture and carpets.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria on your next visit to Sheffield.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here on a great little breaks deal which was very good value for money! The hotel itself if nice, and we were upgraded to an executive room which was lovely, however without air conditioning the room was quite stuffy. As daft as this sounds I was a bit freaked by the number of spiders on all the windows which is why the bedroom window wasn't opened! Even at dinner we had a table by a window but then ended up moving as the spiders both inside and outside the window were numerous and large! I'm glad we moved too as halfway through the meal there were two spiders on the table we had been sat on! I'll admit I am already a little arachnophobic but this all kind of tipped me over the edge, lol! The food was quite good. So while I liked the hotel I am not sure that the positive parts and nice service and staff would get me to stay there again over the spiders ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_Tigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sunny_Tigs

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Overall, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria on one of our packages.

I have noted your comments about the air conditioning and unfortunately due to the hotel being Grade II listed we are restricted on any changes we can make to the hotel. However, we are looking into alternative options.

I have taken on board your comments in regards to the spiders and our hotel maintenance manager is looking into a resolution.

I do hope this does not deter you from staying with us again in the near future.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Property: Holiday Inn Sheffield
Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing