We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A totally satisfied guest.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A totally satisfied guest.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

It's always a pleasure to stay at the 'Royal Victoria' in Sheffield. The entire staff are always very pleasant , friendly and helpful... and the hotel itself is simply full of 'character' and so convieniently situated close to the city centre. Just arrived home after a five night stay....and already looking forward to a return visit late June.

Room Tip: Accepted the offer of an upgrade...but warned that it 'may' be a bit noisy due ongoing funct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Eddie W

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to read that you found your stay with us pleasurable and our staff pleasant.

We are very lucky as hotel as we are a period property that still has many original features such as our grand lounge ceiling and our ballroom however; we still offer all modern convenience.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future on your ext visit to Sheffield.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    360
    175
    78
    34
See reviews for
174
316
50
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Our stay here at the holiday inn was a very pleasant stay from start to finish. The staff were very friendly especially the hotel manager Herman who went out his way to get us directions to "diggerland"and was an all round funny and friendly man. The hotel was great, it was immaculate and very comfortable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diggerlandposse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear diggerlandposse

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always a great pleasure to read such positive comments from our guests.

It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and I hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria in the near future.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My stay at this hotel was a pleasant one. It's a typical Holiday Inn hotel. The room itself was clean but I found it to be quite small and crowded with all the wooden furniture. The bathroom was however much lighter and newly renovated. As regards other areas, I really liked the automatic front door at the hotel. There was one thing that bothered me though. I didn't like the sight of all the cigarette buds in the soil in front of the hotel. There is a smoking area on the side, but apparently people prefer to smoke in front of the hotel especially when it's dark.

Room Tip: No tips this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fillout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear fillout,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the bathroom.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the cleanliness in front of the property. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlemere
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Close to the City Centre, but quiet (location of old train station). Staff were very friendly, fitness room pretty good, room was cold but then it was -5C outside. Price very reasonable. Definitely plan to stay again. ONly downside was that the bathroom (recently refurbished) was freezing - no hearing and towel rail broken.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank relax_calvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Relax_Calvin

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read positive comments.

Regarding the towel rails, we only have heated towel rails in Executive rooms; the towel rails in the standard rooms cannot be heated.

Also, I am sorry that the room was cold as we have conventional radiators in all our rooms and guest can modify the heat in the room and we are not aware of any thermostat not working as they should, however, our staff would have been happy to provide additional heaters if needed. Please rest assured that I have asked our Chief Engineer to check all rooms.

I am surprised of the overall score 2 in consideration of your marks in each section.

However, once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria on your next visit to Sheffield.

Best Wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and could not fault our stay. The building is lovely, the rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable beds (would have liked a king size tho'), fab shower. When we asked for more coffee, tea milk etc for room we were given as much as we wanted. A very enjoyable stay would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Marisa61

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It is great to read how much you enjoyed our stay with us at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria. I am glad that you noticed our lovely grade II listed features.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sheffield.

Thank you once again,

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I've recently been to the ATM conference at the Royal Victoria Hotel, Sheffield and had a great time. The hotel was lovely, the staff were extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble. It was a fantastic venue and the facilities were great. Thanks to everyone for making it a successful event.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SuStrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear SuStrange

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to hold your ATM 3 day conference for 200 delegates. It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments from our guests especially in regards to such an important event being held with us.

I shall pass on your comments to all of the staff involved in helping making your conference such a success.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope we can welcome you back on your next conference in Sheffield.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

A beautiful building, with a good location, but just an ok hotel - nothing spectacular. I thought that the mattress in my room could/should be replaced. Apart from the last moments of my stay, I never saw more than one person at the reception desk, no matter how busy it was. More employees would/could/should mean better customer service. Upon check-in, and after my credit card was used to hold the room, I was subsequently asked for my PIN number - why? (I did not provide that number) Also, an in-room wireless network should be included with the room rate (as a Priority Club member, if nothing else), rather than via an additional cost; at the very least, the hotel should have a business center. While I was allowed to access a computer free of charge at the nearby Holiday Inn Express, I shouldn't have had to leave the hotel for such.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear DLNOLA,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#26 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Property: Holiday Inn Sheffield
Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing