We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
East Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our Association has used the Royal Victoria on many occasions for our National Championships and we have always been extremely satisfied with the service and accommodation. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff considering the number of rooms I book and the changes I have to make.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VandaEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear VandaEastSussex

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments.

I hope that we can welcome your associate back and continue to work with you into the near future.

Best Wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    360
    175
    78
    34
See reviews for
174
316
50
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Victoria for 3 nights in February 2013. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. I changed rooms when I first arrived as my room was near a fairly noisy extractor unit but they moved me without any hesitation. As I was travelling alone I tended to take room service rather than sit on my own in the bar or restaurant and again the service was wonderful - they even worried about the fact I wasn't ordering very much for breakfast every day and left me some fruit in case I was hungry when I returned to the hotel in the evening! Gym facilities were good and were never busy whilst I was there so no excuse for 'giving it a miss'! Whilst some areas of the hotel might be looking a little tired here and there I think overall the experience was very good.As a woman travelling alone (yes I know it says Perfectionist Mike but he does have a better half) I can whole heartedly recommend this hotel and the staff, will be visiting again on business in March.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectionistali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear PerfectionistMike

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to read that you found our staff both friendly and helpful and also that you enjoyed our room service.

I am delighted my staff took every due and attention by noticing your needs and offering more fruit for your breakfast.

Thank you once again for your kind review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your return visit to Sheffield in March.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed there for a conference, so no need to go out. Hotel is a bit isolated on the platform of a railway that closed in the 1970s, a fair walk to facilities, no shops nearby and no taxi rank - but taxis can be phoned for. No chance of a newspaper unless you order it the night before and no mobile phone access inside the building - unless you buy wi-fi , hence lots of people outside getting mobile signals. Having said all that it is a gorgeous Victorian building, well preserved and with modern features, the room was comfortable and the restaurant meals good. Very helpful staff, especially the barman, and a lot more space than in modern hotels. All facilities for a large conference with over 120 people and no feeling of being crowded

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Bobbio

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is great to read such positive reviews from our guests.

It is always positive to read how our staff shine out to our guests. We are lucky as a hotel as we have great facilities where we can hold conferences for up to 300 people plus.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheffield in the near future.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had an overnight stay in Sheffield and found this hotel excellent. It was not far from the city centre, although nice and quiet with plenty of parking (£5 for a day).
The food was good, we enjoyed afternoon tea, and breakfast which was freshly cooked and very tasty. Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
The room was a standard room and was spacious, clean and well equiped including a good quality large screen TV.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLH404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear PLH404

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is always a great pleasure to read such positive reviews from our guests. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed not only your stay but your experience with us when having afternoon tea.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Sheffield.

Thank you once again taking the time to review our hotel.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Whilst working in Sheffield for an extended period (2 years!) I have stayed here 2 or 3 nights a week. Staff are friendly, always helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Location is a 15 minute walk from the centre and there is not great deal to do/see locally!. Room service is good & restaraunt offers usual suspects of good quality plus reasonable selection of alternates.

Room Tip: Rooms are all comfortable, of a reasonable size and well appointed. Original building rooms are ok b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petebWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear petebWorcestershire

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read how positive you found our hotel. I was thrilled to read you found our room service menu varied, as a hotel our Food & Beverage Manager tries to change our food offerings as often as possible to offer a varied and ranged choice to our long stay guests and leisure guests.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the city centre. The old hotel is magnificent inside having lost very little of its past splendour, The breakfast was varied and plentiful. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Our first night we were at the front of the original building, the noise from traffic was unbearable. We mentioned it and the duty manager went out of his way to rectify this, our room was changed to a very quiet one in the newer block. I cannot recommend this hotel and the staff highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally0794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear SAP0794

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I was delighted to read how much you appreciated our hotel.

I was especially delighted to read how you would recommend our hotel.

Thank you once again for your kind review; we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sheffield.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

One night stay for a weekend break. As the former railway hotel for Victoria Station (which closed in 1970), this hotel is steeped in history and is full of character. The staff were extremely helpful and professional, and our room was well appointed. The only minor quibble was the way that the loo had been squeezed into the bathroom. Very comfortable bed and a very new large flat-screen TV in the room. A good night's sleep was followed by an enjoyable breakfast. The location is just a 10 minute walk from the railway station and is handy for the city centre. Would definitely stay here again. The hotel seems to be a popular wedding venue, but this didn't in any way detract from our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Dennis_Alexander

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria.

It was great to read how you noticed all our new flat screen televisions that we have placed in all of our bedrooms.

We are a very popular wedding venue as we have a grand ballroom which is a perfect venue for those special days.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#26 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Property: Holiday Inn Sheffield
Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing