We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for one night only with a KGB deal, upgrading to executive room which was excellent, loads of space, extremely large, comfortable bed and everything else you would expect from an upgrade. Our grandson, who is at university in Sheffield, was able to join us for dinner in the Cunningham restaurant and we all spent a most pleasant evening with good food & friendly service in a relaxing atmosphere. The 10/15 minute walk, mostly via ramps from the train station was no problem. We would not hesitate to stay again; due to the age of the building would always take room upgrade though, as I feel some of the rooms may not be of the same standard that we experienced. Breakfast was excellent & all the staff we encountered were friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: Upgrade to get a good sized room. 308 is brilliant and no creaky floorboards above !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear audl

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about our Cunningham's restaurant and also our team.

It will be my pleasure to pass on your comments to the team.

I also was pleased to read that you enjoyed your upgrade to one of our executive rooms, all our executive rooms have a complimentary drinks tray, bath robes and slippers, mini bar and also executive toiletries.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future on your next visit to Sheffield.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

location - 10 mins walk from station. good location for city centre if driving.

gym and leisure facilities - free gym and sauna - no pool.

breakfast - good if included.

restaurant - did not use.

bar menu - usual holiday inn menu - burgers etc.

rooms - large, tea/coffee etc, tv with plenty channels, good view if on corner rooms.

overall - good location - i would stay here if staying for 1 day. its a bit old and if you are looking for a modern hotel then you would be better at holiday inn express.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arky25Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear arky25Scotland

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

It is always a pleasure to read positive reviews for our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheffield in the near future.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very friendly staff and very comfortable bar. I didn't eat an evening meal in the hotel so I cannot comment but breakfast was fine, it is always nice when they give you a pot of coffee rather than a cup. I had a room in the newer (I'd guess 1980s) part of the hotel which had an updated bathroom but the room itself was a little tired but very clean and the bed was comfortable. We also used the conference rooms which were excellent and very cheap. Would stay again and also use the conference facilities again. I often stay in Holiday Inns and it was nice to stay in one that had a bit of character.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear S_Parsons

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments from guests.

Being a Victorian property the hotel has all the charm and grandeur of the period which is unique to our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future on your next visit to Sheffield were you can try out out award winning Cunningham's restaurant.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went for 2 course meal deal from travelzoo the food was good quality I had prawn starter and an unusual but delicious fish dish for main. The menue was small but varied and well presented. the staff were friendly and helpfull and the wine list was reasonably priced.
the hotel is worth a visit and cunningham resteraunt is tastefull and comfortable .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RotherhamVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear RotherhamVince

It was a delight to read your feedback about your recent visit to our Cunningham's restaurant.

I shall pass on your positive comments to our chefs and also to our restaurant team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future on your next visit to Sheffield.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is of a good standard and my room was good and bed comfortable, but it is a little isolated if you want to eat in the city centre, you will probably need to taxi because the walk is rather torturous if you are not familiar with the city. Meal in the restaurant was only average but breakfast is good , better than the Holiday inn Express next door. If you are not too fussed about a cooked breakfast , the Express is probably a better choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolmjb1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Malcolmjb1952

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased that on the whole you were satisfied with your stay with us.

I was surprised to read that you regarded the hotel as isolated being located in a City Centre location; clustered with a number of City Centre hotels.

As the City’s oldest hotel, the hotel is fortunate to have a panoramic view across the City and boast the easy parking with 260 car park spaces.

As part of the redevelopment plan, the City is improving its public realm, and it is envisaged that the Victoria Quays restaurants offering will offer greater variety. I am pleased to note you positive rating in all other categories.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future, when we assure you of every attention.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Really Enjoyed my stay here. Rooms and facilities were top notch. Very friendly and helpful staff too.

Hotel is a really lovely old building and the bar and restaurant are very grand

couldn't fault this hotel in any way

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AidyK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear AidyK1975

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with is at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria and I will ensure i pass on your positive comments to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here last year and by the look of previous reviews fell very lucky with my room! I stopped here with a groupon deal if i recall correctly.

The room i had was very modern and elegant it was on the top floor and a corner room. Very very spacious with a huge flat screen TV to give you an idea of the room size it had 4 large windows a corridor in the room and a porch way! Nice bathroom only thing was lacking a blind on window!

Very pleased with this stay and would stay again if i was the same room and also parking didnt seem to be an issue.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-Hitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear H-Hitchens

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it was a delight to read such positive comments.

From reading your review it seems to me as you were in 308 one of the hotels executive rooms situated on the corner of the hotel.

Please be reassured I have noted your comment about the blind and I shall pass this onto the relevant department to address.

Once again, thank you for your positive review.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,604 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#14 of 53 in Sheffield
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $74 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing