We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Venue & Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Venue & Friendly Staff”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I use the facilities here quite a lot and have always found the amenities and food absolutely first rate. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone whether this is a short or long stay.The staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    367
    178
    80
    40
See reviews for
180
321
51
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding reception there. The reception staff were pleasant and the room was very nice, large with a nice bathroom and comfortable bed and pilows (choice of pillows was a nice touch). On the down side the bar and function rooms were cold and the breakfast was quite honestly the worst breakfast I have ever seen. Tinned tomatoes, greasy bacon, rock hard sausages and brown coloured beans. If we had been paying seperately for this is would have cost £16.00 each. There is really no excuse for any hotel to serve such a terrible breakfast, we will not go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen6286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear helen6286,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff and your room accommodations. I am sorry for the issues you had with our functions rooms and the bar. I am also sorry for the breakfast we offer that fell below your expectations. Rest assured, your comments will be reviewed by our managements and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I regularly visit the Holiday Inn in Sheffield for business breakfast events. For business it has spacious rooms with good acoustics because of the thick carpets and heavy curtains. I always find the staff friendly and enjoy the food there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I hold a gold card for holiday inn and always seek them out whenever i need a hotel. This is, I am afraid, the poorest Holiday Inn I've stayed in to date. The exterior and reception are very nice, the room was fine, if a bit dated. Before I set out my concerns, I would highlight the excellent receptionist who checked me in. I never caught her name but she was very very pleasant, friendly and welcoming.

On the negative side, I objected to paying £5 for overnight parking, I felt this was a total rip off. Secondly, the Internet was for 24 hours and cost £7.50. It was deathly slow. Stupidly, on my part, I didn't realise that although it was for 24 hours, the download was limited. I tried to watch a programme on iplayer (which continuously buffered) but never got to the end before I'd used up all my allowance for the 24 hours. A total rip off again.

Also, I understand hygiene issues etc but nothing spoils a nights sleep for me more than those plastic/rubber under sheets. I do not require them and they look and feel cheap in hotels. Cleaners should be cleaning mattresses regularly, not putting guests through uncomfortable, hot and sweaty sleeps!! It's cheap and nasty!

The bat food was ok. I ate in my room as the bar was desterted and lacked any atmosphere whatsoever.

This is a beautiful building. But many things need to be rectified. I cannot reccimend this I am afraid

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam12march
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Liam12march,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am pleased you found one of our front desk staff commendable. Please accept my apologies for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts. As a Priority Club Gold Elite member, we appreciate your loyalty and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have used this hotel for business meetings and have used rooms to provide training events. This is a fantastic, listed, building, full of charm and is a great representation of the great railway hotels of a bygone era. The staff are very welcoming and the service excellent. Not a typical Holiday Inn but a central location offering 'old world' charm and sophistication with outstanding service. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartP819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I attended this Holiday Inn for a breakfast networking session on October 25th . The hotel seemed to have plenty of car park spaces and is a short walk from the city. There breakfast buffet had a great selection. The hotel itself looked spotless and has a lovely interior design. I think it's an ideal place for a business meeting, networking session and or party in Sheffield.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for one night as we were off to see Jesus Christ Superstar. Lovely hotel.. The exutive room was more than we expected, except for the leaky shower, so much so that we have booked
there for a weekend in December, just so we can chill out and take a better look round
Sheffield. Would definatley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Property: Holiday Inn Sheffield
Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing