We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly Disappointing”
Review of Coal Grill and Bar

Coal Grill and Bar
Ranked #733 of 1,440 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Bar, Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derbys
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointing”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is the second time we have visited this restaurant, the first time I thought the food was good. Having visited today on a busy Sunday, the food was slightly poorer.

I had a coal chicken burger, which comes beautifully presented, on a wooden board, with chips in a small frying basket and coal slaw. The burger comes in a plain white bun, with lettuce, bacon, cheese and a tomato. I thought this time around that the chicken was slightly under cooked, and the bun fell to pieces, as did my Daughters bun, she had a steak sandwich.

My Husband had a coal burger which he enjoyed, again it came with the same trimmings as the chicken one.

For a garlic bread, two burgers, one steak sandwich, a panini, extra coleslaw and four soft drinks with no tips our bill came to £52.80.

At least you don't come out of there hungry!!!

Surprisingly despite it being very busy, the waiting staff were very pleasant and service was quick. The restaurant on the whole is very clean, spacious and airy. I would go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DobbyDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    107
    73
    70
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redcar
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Steak - definitely recommended”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visit was for birthday/reunion. Wanted something special. We had some "small plates" to start - and they really were very small. Steak was delicious, but found both the pepper and blue cheese sauce watery.
Overall - steak gorgeous and value for money
house white wine - very nice
starters - not really good value for money.
Would I return - yes, but would not have the starter

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BridgetTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Slow, need a week off work to eat here!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I went on an Thursday afternoon, it wasn't busy. We sat at the table and was given menus, 15 mins later a waitress came over and asked for our order, 30 mins after we gave our order the meals turned up. The portions was very small, room temp and very over priced. We asked for the bill and that took 15 min, then when I wanted to pay by card she went off to get the card machine that took another 10 mins. We won't be going back and definetly not recommending to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab Presentation”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I regularly come to Coal, very friendly staff, great food & best thing about it is the presentation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jadenicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average but won't be returning”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The service is very slow here. I'm sat typing this whilst still waiting to pay the bill (10mins) even thought at current there is only 7tables being served. The food was poor. Not presented well and over cooked. My corn on the cob (see picture) looked as though somebody had already been chewing it before it was served. On the plus side the garlic bread was nice. Do not eat the "coal-slaw" it's like dragon spawn. After eating at a lot of establishments price is no barrier but for what you get here it's not good value for money.

You get a loyalty card at the end of your meal..... Don't think ill be using it!
And the waitress asked if we would like to leave a tip as we payed with card...... Rather rude in my opinion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Growe192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coal Grill and Bar also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Coal Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing