We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small meals, staff ok but will not go again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack Baker's Brasserie at the Beauchief - CLOSED

Jack Baker's Brasserie at the Beauchief
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
undy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“small meals, staff ok but will not go again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were actually staying at the hotel and used the restaurant for dinner. meal portions far too small, left feeling "not satisfied", which I suppose is good for dieters but not for anyone else. Staff were fine but will not be going to that venue again

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank libby h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    21
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Left the restaurant still hungry!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were very keen to go to the Beauchief after the change of ownership so 8 of us went on a Saturday night. We all had starters and they arrived promptly, however the portions were absolutely tiny, but beautifully presented. Next arrived the main course - again one small piece of parsnip, two tiny cauliflower florets apparently 'charred'. My friend's was lightly browned, mine was black and tasted only of burnt food. A small discussion ensued with waitress who appeared a little reluctant stating that it should be like that, eventually more vegetables were brought. Underneath 3 slices of baby beetroot was my venison, very very small. This was accompanied by cheesy mash in a separate dish. Feedback from around the table was similar and we were all disappointed. We all had desserts which were lovely. Overall, the food was beautifully cooked, was presented very well but did not present good value for money - it was roughly £90 per couple and we only had 4 bottles of wine between us all. We were not offered the 5-10-5 deal. None of us are gluttons but to have the starter the same size of the main course was disappointing to say the least. Would not recommend - would go half a mile down the road to Morans for better meal all round.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoobieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauchief161, Manager at Jack Baker's Brasserie at the Beauchief, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent meal at The Beauchief. I am glad that enjoyed the food however I will pass your comments on to our Chef in regards to your comments on the portion sizes.
I did want to pick up on one point however. You mentioned that you were not offered the 5-10-5 offer. If you remember, the menu is made up of two sides, the innovative and the classic. All of the classic starters are £5, all the classic main courses are £10 and the classic desserts are £5. This is offered 7 days a week, is actually part of the a la carte menu and represents excellent value for money.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best place in sheffield to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

this is one of the best places in sheff to eat stunning food.i went here for a birthday treat. honestly the food is excellent and top quality.Kelly and her hubby are well on their way on making this the place to eat.i would recommend the beauchief to anyone who loves great food

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Visited on a Saturday evening. Service was pleasant albeit slow. Two starters were unavailable. We both ordered a main course and a bottle of wine. Five mins later the waiter returned to say my main was sold out. Another 5 mins and he returned to say the wine was sold out. There was no offer or suggestions how both issues could be resolved. My husbands steak was tough in parts and no steak knife made it more difficult. My fish was average and cost 20 pounds. It is also necessary to order side dishes and the chips I ordered were not cooked. The restaurant manager cleared our table and acknowledged our "disastrous meal" and offered us a complimentary dessert. We declined but the offer was nice. She deducted the chips from the bill. Cost for two mains and pint and half of lager was 46 pounds. Expensive and we won't be returning. Maybe we just caught them on a bad night.iu

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClareBSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
“Excellent midweek treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Called after work for their 5-10-5 menu (which basically means £5 starter, £10 mains, £5 dessert) and was very impressed with both the quality of food and excellent service.

Upon arrival we were shown to a waiting area with comfortable leather settees and our drinks order was taken. The waiter came back with our drinks and a complimentary platter of canapes...both unexpected and delightful!

After being shown to our table we were furnished with even more complimentary items that included the most amazing stout and treacle bread which was served with hendersons relish infused butter. All which were made fresh on the premises that day.

Both our starters and mains were of excellent quality and of a decent size (not too small or too big). We found we only had room to share a dessert which was a good thing as the creme brulee was huge...and delicious!

All in all a superb evening and we would definitley recommend a visit here in the near future.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Misssheffield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Baker's Brasserie at the Beauchief also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing