We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Good Quality”
Review of Lokanta

Lokanta
Ranked #252 of 1,434 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still Good Quality”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wrote a review of this place in February of this year, giving it five stars. Came here twice this week with family members and I'm pleased to give it the same rating, as we all thought it was (still) very good. Fresh Turkish food at reasonable prices. The decor is pleasing, as were the waiting staff. Will carry on coming back here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MP108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    75
    25
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just because we're students, does not mean you can exploit us!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visited Lokanta for a friends birthday as a table of seven. The manager seemed unaware of our reservation, but pointed at a table for us to sit at in the very empty restaurant. The waiter was most attentive and soon asked our table for drinks. I personally asked the manager how many dishes he would recommend between the seven of us and he suggested fourteen (two each). When we placed our order we asked the waiter if the deal of six dishes between two people for £26 would still apply and he agreed. To make the fourteen dishes we therefore wanted to add two more dishes to the two deals in place. After taking our order, the waiter came back to our table and stated that the manager said the deal would not apply to us because we hadn't ordered enough food. In order to be served, we therefore had to add more dishes onto our order because the manager refused to place our order in the kitchen! If it hadn't have been for our friends birthday, we would have walked out and gone to a restaurant up the road which is more fair in price. The dishes we ordered were particularly greasy and some were very bland and under-seasoned. For such small portions, suggested to be adequate for two people to share, the prices were very steep. The manager said that ordering fourteen dishes was fine, only to be told once we had ordered fourteen dishes that that wasn't enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jojobaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant authentic Turkish experience”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had two wonderful dining experiences dining here. The first time my partner and I ordered a mixed selection of tapas/starters to share. The dishes were beautifully presented and full of flavour. On the second occasion we visited we ordered fewer starters and opted for a main as well. I enjoyed the turkish salsa kebab which was divine. I will defiantly be returning soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moodpubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Turkish Salsa”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This dish is absolutely sensational! The mixed grill is also very good. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would put this restaurant in sheffields top five.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Puddingless?”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Excellent food with both quality and quantity. Difficult to recommend one particular dish as all that the group of four had were equally delicious. Service was a little on the eccentric side as it became necessary to call the waiter across when we required attention. We were not asked if we required a dessert, so I don't know if there was anything on offer. We did request coffees, and both my wife and myself enjoyed their Turkish coffee - but it would have been a little more atmospheric if it was poured from a Turkish coffee pot, rather than just being brought from the kitchen in cups.

A cold night in Sheffield was not fully compensated for by the heat of the restaurant. Close to 5 stars, but not quite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lokanta also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Lokanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing