We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to our third visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smallshaw Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looking forward to our third visit”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were introduced to Smallshaw by friends two years ago and we are now looking forward to our third trip there. Everything about the cottages are wonderful - they are spotlessly clean, in a wonderful scenic location and the hosts cannot do enough for you. There are beautiful walks on the doorstep and the cottages are wonderfully cosy, perfect for a winter break with friends or family. We were lucky enough on our first trip that it snowed heavily whilst we were there and taking a dip in the hot tub, with a glass of bubbly and the snow falling on us, was magical. The BBQ hut is an added bonus and we loved it so much that our own is being delivered next month!

You cannot go wrong with a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat5599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We hope you are enjoying your new barbeque hut - we've certainly had our fair share of snow this year! We hope you may come back in the summer to enjoy the area in sunshine (here's hoping!) Best wishes, Mary and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
20
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I have just had the best hen do weekend with 15 family and friends. The location is amazing with stunning views, the accommodation is immaculate and so well presented, the owners are fantastic, the bbq hut is brilliant and the hot tub a real treat! The bbq hut was my favourite - we used it for a bbq lunch, a cosy couple of hours around the fire and toasting marshmallows in our PJs with the fairy lights twinkling was magical. The website does not at all do the place justice! Its not easy to please 15 people - especially women! - but we ALL loved it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckySenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Toasting marshmallows - bliss, just the perfect way to pass some time in our barbeque hut especially in pj's - we hope we will see you again, individually or as a group. Best wishes, Mary and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We have just arrived back from the cottage and want to go straight back. The location is excellent and remote which is exactly what we wanted. Having said that, we could get right into the North Peaks within half an hour and pubs and supermarket where 10 - 20 minutes drive.
The cottage was beautifully finished and really well laid out and we bared the cold evening weather to use the hot tub a couple of times.
The owners couldn't do enough for us and they even offered a service looking after our dog on days where we couldn't take him with us!
I cannot recommend this place highly enough.....we will be going back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Always a pleasure to look after four legged friends, ours love introducing themselves. We hope to welcome you back soon for more walking and and exploring of the area. Best wishes, Mary and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We visited Smallshaw and stayed in Birch Cottage for a week. The whole place is so well designed and thought out that it really is a cosy home from home. Although there were only two of us staying, we were joined on one day by another 6 family members for a get together. The kitchen was so well equipped that I cooked a 3 course Sunday lunch for eight with no problem. The hot tub is brilliant (but remember to take a bathrobe and flip flops if you are shy at running across the lawn in your bathing suit!) and next time we plan to make use of the barbecue hut as well. There are beautiful walks from the front door and lots of maps and guide books provided for guests to explore. Ocado (waitrose) will happily deliver groceries and there is a farm shop selling fabulous meat and local produce at the bottom of the lane. Jim and Mary are wonderful hosts and the whole place has a lovely relaxed family atmosphere. Meadowhall shopping centre is a short train ride away, as is Sheffield City Centre. We can't recommend it highly enough and we'll be back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobyloo130365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased we were able to provide a base for being close to the family. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Mary and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We visited Smallshaw Farm for the first time in March 2010 when looking for a venue for our wedding. We fell in love with the truely unique location and wonderful kindness and enthusiasm shown by the owners Mary and Jim. Smallshaw Farm is made up of four cottages, three which were renovated a few years ago and the farmhouse which was renovated this year. We stayed a week in September in the build up to our wedding which took place in a marquee on the grounds. We initially stayed first at the small Bramble cottage and then moving to the farm house's luxury bridal suite with sweeping views of the Peak District beyond. There are wonderful walks from the farm, the hot tub is fantastic, the beds are wonderfully comfortable and we loved the heated flooring. The interiors of the cottages are of high standard with all the mod cons and beautiful carpentry throughout. Our wedding was amazing and Mary and Jim went out of their way to make it perfect for us. This farm is great for a family gathering or a romantic getaway for a couple. There are swings, a trampoline, friendly resident dogs and beautiful walks direct from the farm which also makes it perfect for families with children. We can't wait to return for our anniversary next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Such happy memories of a perfect day. We hope that we will welcome you here again with Barnaby. We can't believe how quickly time has gone! Thank you for being our first reviewer on Trip Advisor. Best wishes, Mary and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
10.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
254 reviews
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
20.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
530 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.4 mi away
Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smallshaw Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallshaw Farm Cottages

Property: Smallshaw Farm Cottages
Address: Hollin Lane | Millhouse Green, Sheffield S36 9NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smallshaw Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing