We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese food and cool place”
Review of Yama Sushi

Yama Sushi
Ranked #248 of 1,455 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Japanese food and cool place”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Me and my missus have been here quite a few times, and on a few occasions, we've taken friends also. The food has always been great quality and I love the fact they provide free service green tea with any meal. The sushi is prepared well, but they also do great ramen, and my favorite is the seafood ramen. Will head over there again in a couple of weeks for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stemundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    23
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Sushi in Sheffield”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As a local, I've been to Yama many times. It's best value as a group because many items on the menu come in sets of 6 pieces, so you can have more variety by sharing. There's enough to keep my vegetarian housemate happy and to feed my carnivorous boyfriend (he loves the chicken and leek skewers). Even my mother (who hates the thought of sushi) had an enjoyable meal. The sashimi is excellent.
There's a lovely atmosphere. Be warned it's only a small place, so wise to book ahead if you're there on a busy night--but there's a few places to have a drink nearby, so coming back in half an hour is never a problem.
Expect to spend around £20 including drinks. (Cheapest I've managed was £13 a head, most expensive £25--always more expensive as a couple.) 10% discount for students.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My favourite sushi in sheffield. Friendly service and super tasty especially what is on the specials list. Can only recommend!!! Will go again soon

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whyagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went with a friend on Friday night. Started with a sharing platter of Sushi which was probably the best Sushi I have every tasted. We followed this up with Seafood Ramen in the Pork Broth, Both me and my friend have said that this is probably one of the tastiest dishes we have had! The seafood was perfectly cooked and the broth was beautiful. Will definitely be coming back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claris86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little disappointing given the gushing praise of some other reviews...”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went there for a meal last night. The place itself is not too big, and feels welcoming. The waitress was nice and helpful. The food was... average. The tuna sushi was chewy and not worth bothering with. Salmon teriyaki was ok, and the Generation Beef was very nice. Overall, might go back sometime, but very definitely not the highest quality you can get. Prices were quite good - cash only at the moment so be prepared!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank criticalhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yama Sushi also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Yama Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing