We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Meal along with customer service”
Review of Admiral Rodney

Admiral Rodney
Reserve with OpenTable
Admiral Rodney is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #212 of 1,455 Restaurants in Sheffield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Poor Meal along with customer service”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We ordered 2 haddock and chips,these were served,my wife spotted her very poor batter(like rubber)after her first mouthful.We were sat for a while before we could attract someones attention,then my wife was offered another.By this time i was partly through my meal which seemed ok and I refused the offer of another,wish I hadn't,by the time I got half way through the fish the batter was like dough.I left the batter and ate the fish,my wifes second attempt arrived and it wasn't much better.No one seemed to want to take responsibility for the poor meals,we were served by 1,my wifes 2nd was served by someone else,it was a different 1 that came and asked if my wifes second was ok,apologised when told it was not much better,then it was the same one that delivered a bill for £20.13.They seem to be ok when no one complains,no one as the authority it seems.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mick_g_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    131
    48
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We love it here”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is our local vintage inn and we love it.

The food choice is excellent from starters to main meals.

The service and staff are always excellent.

The drinks are good too.

I cant wait to come again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wato20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had the haddock and chips, we couldnt fault the food at all, large portions and a good price. Very busy so service was a little slow

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blues79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food and a lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We've been here a few times and I am never disappointed by the quality of food and the friendliness of the staff. Typical English food that is prepared beautifully and served promptly. You'll find people of all ages eating here and they are all enjoying themselves. You should really try the deserts as some are fantastic. All in all a very good place to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pub food and friendly service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a meal at the Admiral Rodney and really enjoyed it. The food was good quality, what you would expect from a decent pub. The service was also efficient and friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoJo029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Admiral Rodney also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Admiral Rodney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing