We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Padley”
Review of Padley Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Padley Farm
Ranked #4 of 32 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay for a wedding nearby and this location was recommended by the couple. As we were involved in activities for much of the day, we were expecting difficulties picking up a key. However, the hosts could not have been more accommodating and flexible. Despite several other wedding guests arriving at the same time, we were all greeted in a charming and friendly manner, then shown to our room in a very efficient fashion.
Personally I thought the room was superb, with a high beamed ceiling, lovely bathroom, ample refreshments, plenty of pillows and absolutely no problems with the décor. The views are stunning and, although definitely in the countryside, Sheffield is just a few minutes drive away.
After a great night's sleep, we were treated to a lovely full English breakfast in a spacious dining room, which also had ample tourist information.
Our first thought on leaving was, when can we come again?
Excellent value and well worth a detour.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveandEllieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 71 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We chose this B and B for the position, close to Sheffield but set in beautiful countryside on the edge of the Peak District. The setting is indeed wonderful but the accommodation certainly not worthy of a AA 4star rating (which it has). The welcome was warm, and the double room large with great views, but the decor and furnishing very basic. Bed comfortable but only 2 pillows between us, and very small towels. Bathroom was functional,(but actually not that clean) and the tray of refreshments, very basic. The public areas were a little in need of a good clean too, and it all seemed lacking in the extra touches we would expect for an establishment with this rating. Breakfast was adequate - sliced bread, stale cereal, diluted orange juice. and instant coffee, but the cooked breakfast was well prepared. Would recommend for the setting and the views but not for the quality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nansi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lINDA B, Manager at Padley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

I am sorry you did not find the extra pillows located in your room and were not happy with a choice of 3 different drink options on your hostess tray, but I can assure you that the orange is breakfast orange and not a dilute substitute. I am pleased that like the hundreds of visitors from around the world you enjoyed our full English breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed here several times, and found it a lovely and friendly place. It is a fantastic setting, with great views of the surrounding hills and valleys. Very comfortable and spacious rooms, and an excellent home-cooked breakfast.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank MatthewEdwardsWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just stayed one night. There are some good points - the position is convenient for Sheffield but out on the edge of the Peak District with wonderful views, and the staff were very pleasant and friendly. On the other hand the place has a slightly unfinished feeling to it and has clearly been converted to a budget. The heating not working on arrival, though to their credit they brought a heater in. The bed-linen was pretty downmarket and the breakfast no more than satisfactory. Nevertheless for the very reasonable price you could do a lot worse for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pardos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lINDA B, Manager at Padley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

I am so pleased you took advantage of our unique position for your stay, and that the substitute heating kept you comfortable, you will be pleased to hear that we since changed our feroli boiler for an excellent boiler which emphasises the marvellous underfloor heating system. I can assure you also that the budget was probably higher than most because of the quality materials used and we don't pack the rooms out with lots of soft furnishings as we are allergy reduced rooms here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This B& B were really helpful in getting us a room with everything that we needed at really short notice. Great location for walking out in the hills and with super views over the hills. The room we had was especially large with a great washroom and comfy beds. Breakfast was hearty, true peak district hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldfrintonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Padley Farm is a set in a lovely location with stunning views across the valley. We had booked the entire place (4 double rooms, 2 ground floor rooms with double and single beds and 1 family room) and it was a lovely relaxing family gathering. Linda was happy for us to use the breakfast room as a social space. Linda is an excellent host and I would definately recommend for people looking for quiet accomdadtion in the North West of Sheffield.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful but choose for your needs e.g. wheelchair accessible or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I've just returned from my (second) visit to Padley Farm. Linda is a warm and friendly host who serves up a fine breakfast. The rooms are large, airy and very comfortable. The views are spectacular and beautifully quiet yet really handy for nearby Sheffield.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
4.7 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
5.0 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
771 reviews
4.9 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,058 reviews
5.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padley Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padley Farm

Address: Dungworth Green, Sheffield S6 6HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range: $81 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Padley Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Padley Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing