We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian food, with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Terrazza

La Terrazza
Ranked #447 of 1,428 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian food, with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I have been dinning here for the past 6 years (must have been at least 20 times), I can say without doubt that it's the best Italian in Sheffield.

The food is always excellent, as is the service.
Very good choice of food, all cooked to perfection.

It's a family run restaurant, so you're always made to feel welcome.

Can't wait to go again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    21
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Been 4 times now and food and service consistently very very good.
Friendly staff, nice marble tables, good quality wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zakroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
“Great night with Gerry and Sylvia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Fantastic atmosphere, great food friendly staff recommend visit, one of the best in Sheffield and we see a lot!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simmoalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Really good italian food served by a great waitress. The family who own it are Italian and it shows. Everything cooked perfectly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirecouple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“May as well have gone to a Prezzo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. After dining there i wondered: Do people not know how to cook italian food? How low are peoples standards?

This restaurant had great reviews coming out of it's ears. Brief review:

My girlfriend was really looking forward to the seabass after seeing it on the specials board. They didn't have any. Note to all restaurants, if you don't have it, don't advertise it on the chalkboard. They still didn't remove it after apologising that they had run out.

I had a pear and goats cheese starter, which was fine. Not a lot of effort or skill went into to it, but it was simple and pleasant enough. My girlfriend had the meatsballs: which were pretty good.

Moving onto the mains. I had the baken chicken and spinach pancakes topped with tomato sauce. What i got was basically a flat canelloni smothered in a pretty average tomato and cream sauce. I'm not a chef but i can make a far tastier sauce. There wasn't a great deal of chicken in it, there certainly was a lack of spinach.

My girlfriends meal was pretty poor. Smoked tuna linguini.

There was SOME smoked tuna but it was spread pretty sparingly. The linguini was absolutlely soaked in olive oil and very greasy.

Service was decent, particularly the waiter who seemed to be overseeing things. Nice guy, very friendly.

Wine was good.

Disappointing mains considering the reviews i'd read.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrazza also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to La Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing