We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss this place...”

New Cod on the Block
Ranked #159 of 1,463 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Restaurant details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I miss this place...”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have recently moved from the area, and now cant find a decent chippy that lives up to new cod on the block. I don't even like fish but always tuck into a little bit of my partners when he gets cod from here. I hope they open another chip shop around the S25 area. I cant wait till i'm back in the area so I can have some proper chips

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Excellent food, my favourite chippy in Sheffield. For some reason I find the food here less greasy than other fish and chip take-aways. There is often a queue when I visit (which speaks volumes for the quality). When I lived in Walkley I was a frequent repeat customer here. I recommend you try it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous fish.. all chose the cod.”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Spotlessly clean. Friendly staff. We all chose a variety of food off the menu and all the food was cooked well and tasted superb.

Would recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best fish and chip in walkley”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Always well cooked chips and fresh fish, owners very nice. Its clean and opens at convenient times. Like the name!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheffield-Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unfriendly service.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Fish was okay but felt like an intruder inconveniencing the staff by ordering food there. With plenty of chippy's in sheffield, go elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Cod on the Block also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to New Cod on the Block? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing