We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish and Chips in Sheffield!”

New Cod on the Block
Ranked #168 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Restaurant details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Fish and Chips in Sheffield!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had my fair of Fish and Chips in my time. Went to "New Cod on the Block" for the first time last year. Been back many times since. Some of the best fish and chips I've ever had always fresh and crisp. Couldn't recommend enough! Just going down now!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    19
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and staff!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The food here is gorgeous, the menu is wide and varied, we are vegetarians and have the veggy burger and chips which is lovely! The family who run this chip shop are all extremely friendly, even the children get involved. It is immaculately clean. Cannot speak highly enough of the food and staff. Keep up the good work and Well Done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Have the Haddock!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

When you get in the shop ask for haddock and we like it with the batter "off" - which isn't totally off but is a lot less fattening!!

We have to drive to get here and it is always top-class. As well as Tony and his lovely wife there is an equally lovely daughter on Friday nights, so the service is terrific. But so is the food...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Folkiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best chip shop in town!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Tony and his lovely wife have been selling me fish and chips for the last 12 years and their food has never fallen short of perfection! Fish and chips served as they should be, fresh and crispy on the outside and warm and tender in the middle. Not left to stagnate in the display like you get in other places. Everyone gets a warm and a smile welcome when they go inside. I hope Tony is still around for a long time yet. I mean the guys an institution. A real pillar of the community!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Come here twice a week for our tea and its just delicious.. Would recommend this chippy! Friendly staff and lovely service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Cod on the Block also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to New Cod on the Block? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing