We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conveniant location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

New-ish built hotel, Basics well catered for. Very convenient city centre location and free parking. Breakfast seems a bit pricey but if you've got kids they eat for free so that more than makes up for it!


  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemonster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to hear we were able to cater your needs, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

We needed a place to stay the night before appointment at the hospital and this was recommended to us by the hospital. Having read the excellent reviews on TA I booked. Easy to find in the centre of Sheffield with its own secure underground parking with access to hotel from car park (ideal as it was raining so didn't have it get wet transferring luggage from car to hotel).

Quick and very friendly check in with all necessary information given about bar/restaurant etc and number to phone if we needed anything. We had a triple room which was large enough and had every amenity we needed. It was fresh and clean.

We requested an extra pillow (there were two spare in the wardrobe but needed one more for our son). Reception answered call quickly and politely and within five minutes there was a friendly face at the door with the pillow.

Beds were very comfortable, room temperature perfect thanks to the aircon. We had a quiet room on the fourth floor. We all slept very well.

Very warm welcome at breakfast where we were shown the buffet breakfast and it was explained that if there was anything special we would like then just ask and the chef would prepare it. Good choices of food and drinks with a courtesy question asking if we had everything we needed during breakfast.

Efficient and friendly check out. Hotel minutes from the hospital and university so perfect location.

If I ever need to visit Sheffield again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Great hotel, great staff at a great price

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank luv2holiday64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations following the reviews you had read and I'm pleased to know that you found our team friendly and courteous. If you find yourself back in Sheffield again, we would love to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

highly recommended, a real gem of a hotel. The place has local character, friendly knowledgeable staff and offers real value for money. You really don't feel like you are in a budget hotel as the design and quality far exceed the price tag, and the hotel has its own unique style and character.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our team friendly and knowledgable. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Brilliant location for city centre and universities. Excellent value for money. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms clean fresh and spacious. Definitely recommend to family and friends and stay again. ;)




  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear that you will be recommending us to your friends and family and that you are going to stay with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel was tidy and clean. It was very secure with cards being required to use lifts and to enter each floor. Free parking onsite. Close to town centre. Helpful staff. What more could you ask for. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerS789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

I am so pleased to hear that you would stay with us again based on your stay with us recently and that we meet your expectations. Thank you for your review and we shall hopefully see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night while helping my son move flat. Would definitely recommend it. Very clean; good value; good location 10 min walk to city centre shops; free underground car park which is a bonus these days!
Didn't eat here but are at El Paso just around the corner and would recommend this too.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

It is lovely to hear that you will recommend our hotel and that you found our hotel to be very clean and good value. I hope the move went well and hopefully we shall welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Visiting relatives around the Sheffield area, we stayed for two extended periods at this convenient hotel very close to the bottom end of the Moor in the City Centre. The hotel is very comfortable and, with internet booking, very affordable for such a location. The rooms are modern basic, but have most amenities, including a very comfortable bed. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Neville is a gem at breakfast time. Parking is secure under the hotel, but can be a little tight at peak times. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suggest a high location with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for your review especially your comments regarding our friendly team and Neville in particular, I will ensure that your kind words are passed onto him. I am pleased to hear that you found our beds very comfortable as we pride ourselves on the quality of our beds. We looking forward to seeing you the next time you visit your relatives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
1,344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $60 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing