We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, budget hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great, budget hotel.”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel was tidy and clean. It was very secure with cards being required to use lifts and to enter each floor. Free parking onsite. Close to town centre. Helpful staff. What more could you ask for. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerS789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am so pleased to hear that you would stay with us again based on your stay with us recently and that we meet your expectations. Thank you for your review and we shall hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    397
    96
    21
    14
See reviews for
359
367
97
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night while helping my son move flat. Would definitely recommend it. Very clean; good value; good location 10 min walk to city centre shops; free underground car park which is a bonus these days!
Didn't eat here but are at El Paso just around the corner and would recommend this too.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
It is lovely to hear that you will recommend our hotel and that you found our hotel to be very clean and good value. I hope the move went well and hopefully we shall welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binningup, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Visiting relatives around the Sheffield area, we stayed for two extended periods at this convenient hotel very close to the bottom end of the Moor in the City Centre. The hotel is very comfortable and, with internet booking, very affordable for such a location. The rooms are modern basic, but have most amenities, including a very comfortable bed. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Neville is a gem at breakfast time. Parking is secure under the hotel, but can be a little tight at peak times. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suggest a high location with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your review especially your comments regarding our friendly team and Neville in particular, I will ensure that your kind words are passed onto him. I am pleased to hear that you found our beds very comfortable as we pride ourselves on the quality of our beds. We looking forward to seeing you the next time you visit your relatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Fantastic hotel for the money, we stayed here for one night whilst the missus went to the sheffield hospital the next day.. Recommend the breakfast aswell, free secure parking is great too. Across the road is a great wetherspoons pub for the night cap, lots of restaurants etc aswell, bar meal in wetherspoons was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlisleTorreboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it's nice to hear that you think our hotel is fantastic and good value as we pride ourselves in ensuring our guests have a great experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel on more than one occasion visiting my daughter at University and have found it to be a friendly clean comfortable hotel with secure free parking a real benefit in Sheffield. It is probably one of the best premier inn's I have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am delighted to read your comments and that you choose to stay with us when you are visiting your daughter at University and find our team friendly and the hotel clean and comfortable each time you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit your daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Have been using this hotel for last four years while our son was at uni .. Staff are always friendly and efficient , Hotel is lovely, beds so comfy. Great location for city centre .Will deffinately be back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
It is lovely to read your comments regarding your experience of our hotel over the last 4 years, in particular that you always find our team friendly and efficient. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel is situated in a Good location within walkable distance from the Bus and the train stations. Not very knowledgeable staff. Poor checking in. Uncomfortable beds. Shower and wash basin taps had a problem . Would stop suddenly and then start again with very hot water . Washbasin was partially blocked . Poor housekeeping

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing