We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, great value, great staff”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed one night and it couldn't have gone better. From ringing to request a high floor and speaking to very helpful member of staff called Holly, everything was perfect. Ample parking on arrival, spacious clean room, friendly staff, would definitely return

Room Tip: Request a room on either floor 10 or 11 for great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowerowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you found Holly in particular to be so helpful.

Premier Inn look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    371
    91
    21
    13
See reviews for
326
340
96
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

From start to finish my experience was great at the hotel. Amy on reception was exceptionally wonderful. Friendly and efficient. The room was very big and the bed was massive and looked so inviting. When I finally went to bed I wasn't disappointed in the wonderful comfy bed. Breakfast was an absolute treat. Everything cooked to perfection. I am definitely returning to this hotel as I'm totally impressed. Customer service at it's best

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolepippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind feedback and wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you found our team (Amy in particular) to be so friendly and helpful.

I am delighted that you would choose to stay with us again in the future, myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to St Mary's Gate soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Premier Inn over the past couple of years I have grown to really like, they do what they say they're going to do and they do it well. This Premier Inn is obviously quite new, it was nicely fitted out, modern paintwork, good shower, plenty of hot water. Nice and centrally located, we only stayed a night as we were passing through to other places on a roadtrip, but I got a great nights sleep, very comfortable bed. Accomdation is secure with entry locks, staff were friendly, and we managed to park without hassle. Nice and clean, fairly centrally located as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin22y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and that team to be friendly and helpful.

I really hope we get to welcome you back to St Mary's Gate in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just what you want when visiting Sheffield. We had a top floor room so had amazing views over Sheffield, meaning we could get our bearings too! Good price, you can always count on Premier Inn to be clean and modern.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian2392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay with here at St Mary's Gate.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our price and location.

I hope to welcome you back to St Mary's Gate again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have stayed in quite a few different Premier Inns and the rooms all have pretty much the same layout, this Premier Inn is quite different. The sink is in the room and the loo and shower are in a little cubicle thing built into the room. I understand that this is because the hotel was deigned and built before Premier Inn took it over. Rooms were clean and comfortable as always at Premier Inn, but we prefer the usual Premier Inn room layout. Breakfast in the restaurant was good. Free car parking is under the hotel, the barrier to get in is a tight squeeze for a big car. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank island163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
This site is a different lay out to the majority of Premier Inn's and I appreciate it is not to everyone taste.
I am pleased to hear you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that the team were friendly and helful.

We hope you still choose to stay with Premier Inn's in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

As is consistent with every Premier Inn I've stayed at, this hotel is clean, comfortable, secure & has friendly staff. Dropped on an amazing advance rate and really enjoyed our stay. Well done once again Premier Inn!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary;s Gate.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the team to be so friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable.

I really hope we get to welcome you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

A good location for the city centre.
Walking distance from the city as well as Eccleshall Rd where there are loads of bars and restaurants.
Clean and welcoming.
The staff were friendly.
Fully what I expected from a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrightyGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete this review and for the kind feedback you have given us.

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team made you feel welcome during your time here.

We hope we get to welcome you back to St Mary's Gate in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
2,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing