We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!! Would reccommend and return :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!!! Would reccommend and return :)”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here with my partner when visiting family. It was brilliant! The hotel was really easy to find and the parking is really secure, which was a massive thumbs up with being in the city centre. Then when checking in we had the option of self service check in, which we gave a try and was super simple and quick. We went to our room which was spotless and had everything you could need, along with the option of soft and firm pillows. There is also a security guard on the front door to stop any one wandering that shouldn't be, also great thumbs up for security.

We both slept very well and went for breakfast in the morning which had lots of variety and the staff were helpful. Really enjoyed it! Checking out was also really quick.

Overall, it was brilliant and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us on this site and for giving us such wonderful comments.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that you would stay here again and indeed recommend us to others.

We really look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.

From all of the team at St Mary's Gate, we wish you a very happy 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    396
    96
    21
    14
See reviews for
358
367
97
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here last night and I thought the hotel was excellent. The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help you, the hotel is really clean and new feeling, the room was a great size, the bed was one of the comfiest I've ever slept on and the restaurant was excellent in terms of service, and good in terms of the actual food (couple of small niggles, dealt with brilliantly.)
I had read TripAdvisor reviews before booking this hotel and I was really happy, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Bing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to others.

We really look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.
From all of the team here at St Mary's Gate, we wish you a very happy 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

the receptionist seemed like she really cared that we were comfy and had all we needed. she went off at 11pm and was back at 7am but still seemed like she cared that we'd had a good night (which we had). Then the waiter at the (excellent) breakfast buffet was very attentive and helpful. We started to feel they must have mistaken us for celebrities!
Slightly odd thing was having the wash basin in the room itself, not the bathroom but actually it was quite useful like that.

Room Tip: press the button for access to the underground carpark and it will open without question - just beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the team to be so attentive and caring.
We really hope to welcome you back here again in the future.
From all of us here at St Mary's Gate, we hope you have a wonderful 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Greeted by receptionist who offered help and information we felt very welcome - which was in vast contrast to a visit to the Kenwood Hotel only 2 weeks previously! Room service was good - rooms clean warm and comfortable. Restaurant - food was very good . All staff were friendly. A very positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLWWfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room to be so clean and the staff to be very welcoming.
We really look forward to welcoming you back here again in the future.
From all of us here at St Mary's Gate, we wish you a very happy 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend stop over on 28 December 2014.

I've stayed here several times in the past as I'm originally from Sheffield and often come up to see family and friends.

This hotel is central and offers free parking. Very easy to get here from motorway and always welcoming.

If you've booked a room and you're using the Car Park facilities, just drive to the Car Park entrance by the side of hotel and press the 'Premier Inn' button. Reception will open the car park for you. This is not fully explained on their website and is a little confusing.

We don't stay for evening meal or breakfast as to be honest you have a very wide selection of restaurants on your very doorstep in central Sheffield. If you just want a snack, there's plenty of late opening take-aways on London road opposite, just go under the subway.

There's a large Waitrose opposite the hotel, for any bits you may need - bottle of wine etc. If you head towards the Watrose and turn left on Ecclesall road south, you'll find a great Weatherspoon's pub open all day and serves breakfast at half the cost of the hotel! Great tip if you're watching your pennies. 5 mins walk from hotel.

But can not complain. Very good hotel. Clean and warm with pleasant friendly staff. Will use again without doubt.

Room Tip: Aim for the top floors for great views over the City centre. You may not have a choice if you check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibou-sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are a frequent user of this chain and site.
We all look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.
All the very best for 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed our three night stay at the hotel for three night. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They were kindly let myself and my parents a 4th floor which is better for me mum. The room was spot on cleaned and tidy. It was handy leaving your car their when your walking to city centre in Sheffield save your time parking somewhere. We shall be back again soon in future. 10/10 for excellent accommodation.

Room Tip: Leave your car their when your visiting the city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team to be so helpful.
We hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
All the very best for 2014!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

What a fabulous friendly hotel, often thought about staying when visiting the city centre, but as we live in Sheffield we never got round to it. Big Mistake ! Its such a friendly hotel the staff really are a delight.We were so impressed with the decor the restaurant and bar are superb. We stayed New Years Eve and so very pleased we did. WELL DONE to the staff for making it perfect THANK YOU
Visit them its worth it, we will return very very soon and cannot wait !

Room Tip: Be brave take pot luck ! Sure they will all be ok and of the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
We are all so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you shall be returning to stay again in the future.
Your comments have been passed onto the team who were delighted with your kind comments.
We really look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
From all of us at St Mary's Gate, we wish you a very happy 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing