We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class and great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed two nights here, unexpectedly due to emergency hospital treatment making an easy access room with crutches friendly facilities necessary! The booking was made in the early hours of the morning, and the receptionist was excellent on our arrival, and we had been booked into a disabled friendly room not far from the lift.
On the second night, which was again unexpected, we ate in the restaurant and again found all the young staff members superb, friendly and cheerful. The food was great too, and very attractively presented. We've stayed in several premier inns and I found here was the best I've seen. Easy access parking was secure and free! Really pleased with our stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank S997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all of the staff attended to your needs in such a friendly and pleasant manner.

We really look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.
From all of us at St Mary's Gate, have a very happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

905 - 911 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This is just a perfect place to stay. We were initially booked at its sister hotel in Angel Street but moved here du to its Christmas period closure. At the end, I feel really lucky to stay at St Mary's Gate.

Location is really in the centre of our interest - University, City Centre, Botanical Garden, Broomhill, and still if you still wish to outreach the broader city then the public transports are just around the corner.

As we booked in advance (and looks like Christmas is not their busy days), we managed to secure their deal price which made the stay really worth. Very decent size of both the room and shower room with a good working air con.

Like other travellers, while we arrived before 2pm, Louise who took us for check in was kind enough to find a ready room for us. Efficient check in and check out and reception will assist you with all you need for a convenient stay.

We also booked Premier B'fast in advance for the duration of our stay. Their continental and hot b'fast selection are really good. We love the croissant and fruit salad. Thanks to Neville who are always very friendly serving guests and spend times to chat around.

This would be my preferred hotel if going back to Sheffield and highly recommend if you are looking for a friendly, comfortable and good price hotel. I woul take their service ia competitive to at least a 4-stars hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Iswarayoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to others.
Louise and Neville are both really happy to hear that they met all of your needs and helped make your stay with us more enjoyable.

Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had booked to see something at city hall. Hotel was in a great location, parking was secure, room was great, we had our evening meal in the restaurant, great food, great nights sleep, room very clean, breakfast was brilliant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
We strive to deliver the very best for our guests and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Have a very merry Christmas and a happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

So another premier inn different city, however same good quality and value for money. Check in welcoming and straight forward. Room well appointed clean warm etc no issues

Yet again I would recommend this premier inn

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastlefordAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to others.
We look forward to welcoming you back to St Mary's Gate in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Fantastic hotel with a great location, 5 minutes walk to the shops.
Greeted really warmly by the staff and room was good (standard premier inn).
The staff at breakfast were fantastic, really accomodating and friendly.
The on-site parking is underneath the building, we didn't have a problem getting a space (but we did stay on a Sunday) and it is very secure.
Would definately stay again when visiting Sheffield

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemstone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you gemstone20 for your wonderful feedback.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at St Mary's Gate Premier Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great hotel right in the centre of Sheffield with the added advantage of underground parking if you manage to get a space - I did without any bother but I arrived quite early so maybe it could be a problem for those arriving later in the day. The view from my room on floor 13 was great and the restaurant was good, with a great breakfast too. I had to wait around a bit for someone to arrive at reception but when they came they were friendly and helpful. I will probably stay there again when I'm next working in Sheffield.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you George E for your kind feedback.
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at St Mary's Gate PI.
I must admit the view is quite wonderful from the top floor and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed a good breakfast in the morning.
We all look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I were up in Sheffield for a gig and booked a 1 night stay here. We were immediately impressed by the free onsite secure parking.

The lady in reception was friendly, helpful and calm, despite it being very busy. We got to our room and were thrilled that it was so spacious and super quiet, despite the city centre location. The bathroom set up was a bit odd (sink in the room, just outside of the ensuite bathroom) but was absolutely fine and the shower was great.

I was particularly impressed with the illuminated mirror by the side of the wardrobe - absolutely perfect for getting my make up on for the evening.

The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room temperature was perfect - I didn't once get too hot or too cold during the night and so had a perfect, uninterrupted sleep.

We had some drinks at the bar after the gig and also had breakfast in the restaurant in the morning. The staff were all great and the food was absolutely delicious.

We will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you Rosie B for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.
We strive to deliver the best possible experiance for our guests and I am pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us.
We all really look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,559 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $61 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing