We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, exactly what we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value, exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed one night as was in Sheffield to attend a friend's wedding. Identical experience to a previous Premier Inn I have stayed at. Check in was friendly and efficient (auto terminals available if you prefer). We arrived early and the staff were more than happy to store our luggage for us in their locked secure storage area.

With regards to the room, you get what you pay for here. Our twin room had a double bed and a single bed. Room was a good size. Beds comfortable. Flat screen TV in room worked well with no problems receiving channels. Towels/linen all seemed good quality.

The bathroom is small but perfectly usable and clean. Shower and toilet are in the bathroom itself, with the sink just outside in the main room. The bathroom lock was broken which we forgot to report but this wasn't really a problem.

Shower was good, powerful with plenty of hot water. I'm just under 6'2" & felt perhaps slightly too tall as the shower head was fixed at a slightly lower height than I'd have liked. However it's angle could be adjusted which mitigated this somewhat.

Check out was at midday which was later than expected. Again this was efficiently handled in a friendly manner.

Good value & I would definitely stay here again. Definitely a step up compared to Travelodges I have stayed at in the past. The staff were very friendly and eager to please.

I think some reviewers need to recognise that this is a good quality budget chain hotel. I have stayed at various 4/5 star hotels such as HdV, Intercontinental etc. This hotel is not on a par with them, but nor is its price tag. Comparing this hotel to hotels twice (if not more) the price is unfair and will put guests off whom are looking for a clean good value place to spend a night or two.

If you unreasonably expect 5 star rooms at 2 star prices, prepare to be disappointed. But if you want a clean & comfortable place to stay that wont break the bank, you'll struggle to find better.

NB: Fire alarm went off the night we stayed necessitating an evacuation, rumour was that it was set off by the steam from a shower. Not sure if this is a frequent occurrence or not. All guests were given a full refund due to the disturbance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostAndFoundUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    380
    91
    21
    13
See reviews for
336
347
96
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Spent 2 nights as we were up for a wedding and 1st time in a Premier Inn. Very good throughout from the moment we parked underground to checkout. Tony on reception was 1st class and answered all our enquiries re places to eat and booking taxis etc. Restaurant manager that looks like "don't get done, get Dom" was also really friendly and professional,.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkyofWhitstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My partner was in Sheffield for business so I thought I would join him to do some shopping while he was at work. We arrived at about 4 in the afternoon and it took almost fifteen minutes to get in the carpark which should have been an omen of things to come.

We finally made it to the third floor `reception` which was actually just like a self service console but it was easy enough to use and the key soon dropped out, I point out that we still haven't seen a staff member so far. We went to the 7th floor to see our room.

Basic is the word I would use and that is a compliment the sink is in the bedroom and the toilet cubical is extremely compact almost unusably so. I would have been OK with this had it at least been clean. The grime was so thick it hadn't been cleaned properly in months and the rest of the room was as bad with thick dust all over, a desk light that didn't work, mugs that had hairs on and the stained linen that almost made me sick.

We called down to reception who told us housekeeping had left at that point but someone would sort it out ASAP, a young girl who's name I can't recall soon appeared, saying that although she was a manager now she had once been a housekeeper incidentally she also never apologised. My partner thought we should eat so once we explained the issues we just left her too it as the room was uncomfortable with three people in. We were assured when we got back everything would be sorted.

Obviously I refused to try the restaurant so we went out and the only positive to come from this experience is that London road just has so many exciting restaurants to try. We returned at about half past nine to find the restaurant was busy and couldn't help but over hear people complaining. So sounds like we had a narrow escape. We went straight to our room to see some sort of effort had been made to rectify the issues but I still couldn't use the word clean to describe it. I refused to stay and didn't want to risk another room so we left, we tried to complain but after waiting fifteen minutes to speak to the manager we left unsuccessful. We ended up in the Jury's inn which was perfect and the polar opposite to the premier inn, don't make the mistake we did go straight to the jury's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helomayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff were friendly and could not do enough for us. Our group included quite a few children of various ages and the staff made them all welcome.
Our room was clean and pleasant and we had a good nights sleep. There was a good variety of food for breakfast & we were checked in & out swiftly and efficiently.
We definitely had value for money and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed as a family to celebrate a special event, the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble from organising a conference room to ordering in pizza. We had 12 under 11s in our party so overnights can be tricky.We all had a fab time and felt we got great value for money. Thanks so much. We would recommend this hotel any time

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boonytoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A decent place for a few nights stay. Could do with 2 hand towels ( you only get one) - air con / heating can been noisy in rooms. staff friendly and rooms clean. Breakfasts are decent and plenty to eat.TVs are are bit basic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We haven't stayed at Premier Inn for some time, so this one came as a lovely surprise. On arrival, I was greeted by my first name, which was lovely. Check-in was fast and the family room was clean and comfortable.
We ate dinner in the restaraunt and though busy, Chloe looked after us and ensured that dishes were taken away quickly and the next course was served. Breakfast was good value and I was swiftly served a delicious omlette which was cooked to order.
All staff were friendly, efficient and overall I cannot fault this hotel.
Excellent value for money. Well done.

Room Tip: Room 410 was quiet and suited a small family well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chigStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing