We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but no bath”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good value but no bath”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Was not impressed with no bath as not mentioned at time of booking and tht the sink was in the main room.staff also not 100% sure of checkout time friendly enough staff.did not feel 100% safe in the local area but that is personal preference.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    380
    92
    21
    13
See reviews for
338
347
96
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

For a short business trip, this Premier Inn provides excellent value and service. Check-in was fast and easy, and for Premier Inn regulars, there is a self check-in service. I was checked in by a very friendly trainee (who also sourced a small jug of milk for an evening cuppa, and helped me swipe the lift access up to my room as my hands were full). For this kind of hotel, the room was very spacious. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable bed, and decent black-out blinds. The shower was a Japanese style shower unit, again clean, good water pressure. The only odd thing was that the sink is in the room rather than the bathroom. This worked well for me, but it may not be everyone's choice of set-up. Tea & coffee facilities in the room, and restaurant downstairs. One downside was a rather small TV that couldn't be adjusted, and a fee for wifi (although cheap, and first 30 mins free). The room (and corridor) was quiet, I had a good night's sleep, and was able to take a 'grab and go' breakfast with me to the station - tea & croissants. Train station was 15 mins walk away. I would certainly stay again, this was my first experience of Premier Inn and I think that they have got the recipe for business travel right.

Room Tip: Probably higher up if you want a view of the beautiful countryside around Sheffield. My room was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I would never say this hotel was in the city centre. It's on the inner ring road, in a particularly dull area, unless you want to go to Wickes. It's a ten minute walk to the real centre and about the same from the station.
Building is a modern tower block. Rooms modern, basic but fine. Small bathroom with sink in main room.
Reception staff helpful.
Overall, wouldn't come back. A soulless stay with little to recommend it unless I was on business.
Sheffield itself was good. Had a lovely evening at the Rutland Arms.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whymemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent a weekend in this excellent hotel - location and usual high standard of Premier Inn accommodation. Free car parking below hotel and easy access from ring road.
Fast and friendly reception. We travelled with another couple and had contacted the hotel to prior to arrival book rooms together.
Rooms were good size and spotlessly clean. Washbasin was within the main bedroom - actually quite handy. Great shower - good pressure and size. Hairdryer and tea & coffee in the room.
No problems with noise in the hotel but a lot of sirens etc from outside on our 2nd night. Not so bad to keep us awake.
Security (card swipe) access in lift and access doors to each floor - excellent arrangement.
5 mins walk to city centre and tram facilities. We didn't eat in the hotel but have done so during previous stays in Premier Inn's and would expect it would be the same quality.
All in all would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandRosslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

You know what you’re going to get with Premier Inns. Excellent location for a short City Centre Break, or if you are going to an event in Sheffield. The Location is Good, The staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent and good value. We went to the Arena, which is a short taxi ride, or you can get the tram. On site Car Parking was included in the cost. All in all an Excellent value hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Staff excellent, room standard excellent, food (dinner and breakfast) very good and pretty good value, cleanliness excellent. location excellent, parking facilities excellent, staff were welcoming and helpful and smiling. All in all, a very good stay at a bargain price. I would have to be extremely nit-picky to make any negative comment.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty standard. Air conditioning installation is at the top of the building, so the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphinAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here with my husband on a weekend break for a celebration. Had a warm welcome and got a room on the eleventh floor, right opposite a building my husband used for work on a few occasions. Just when you tried to get away from it all.
The room was spacious and immaculately clean, I liked the fact that a choice of pillows (soft and firm) were offered. What I found odd was the fact that the sink was in the room and then you had a sliding door to the toilet/shower bit. All very compact and shower nice and hot but still, I was a tad disappointed about the lack of a bath as I wanted to have a soak. As it turned out it was perfect for the length of stay.
A very high tech hotel I have found: You have to swipe your room key card in the lift in order to use it. Sadly, it expired a bit prematurely. When we wanted to return to our room to pack and check out, we could not use the lift, nor could we get back into our room. This was rectified in no time but gave us the feeling the next guests were already waiting and we were shooed out of the door.
Quality of sleep was not great but that was due to my dreams rather than outside noise and Premier Inn do not guarantee that. We felt very comfortable here and the distance to the centre was ideal. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Thank you Premier Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing