We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but with reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but with reservations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

A few things went wrong with this hotel. Premier Inn sent me the wrong satnav address and I ended up in the middle of a housing estate. Couldn't then get through to their national 0870 number to find the correct contact number. Followed a bus to find the centre and then purely by chance saw the hotel sign. Booked in no problem at the reception on the third floor. Found the room ok but the sink was in the room not the bathroom. Strange - why not make the bathroom pod a little larger? Then the toilet wouldn't flush and then after a few minutes it did flush so I didn't report it. The next morning it wouldn't flush again. Stymied. Had to throw water down the toilet using the mini kettle. Breakfast not the best I've ever had at a premier inn being buffet style rather being freshly cooked. Then one of the two lifts was out of order. Premier inns normally do just what it says on the tin and I remain a fan overall. But they need to sort out the satnav problem and national phone contact as that was highly irritating. On the plus side the hotel were, as ever, unfailingly polite, helpful and cheerful. Hotel was well placed for the town centre and security was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    371
    91
    21
    13
See reviews for
326
340
96
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked this hotel to see the football at Hillsborough. Everything went smoothly, our only gripe was early afternoon a lack of available staff to man the bar hence we gave up waiting, left the hotel and found a bar nearby instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

A typical Premier Inn, No!! Better than that, and better than some I have stayed in, as its fairly new. It's a multi storey one going up to 12 floors. I have stayed on a few, and stayed on Floor 11, but can't recall if I've stayed on the 12th yet. Great views of, 'er, Sheffield! Sadly herds of widerbeest sweeping majestically across the plain are not to be found - but you can see the supertram!

Rooms are quite large, and warm. Clean yes.

Shower rooms, are amazing. They remind me of those shower rooms that you see in porn films. and they have little spot lights beaming down on you. Sadly I am neither old enough , or virile enough to enjoy such a great shower in that respect - but you may be.. so bear it in mind!

The hotel does have a basement car park, which if you're early enough, you will get a space in, and the bonus is , if you're working nearby, you can leave the car there, and pick up later.

Staff are great.
A better Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Get to basement car park early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank symbolism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We always stay here when visiting our friend in Sheffield. We like the fact that we can walk to the nightlife and that there is underground parking. Staff is always really helpful and, despite checking in on a busy Saturday afternoon, we sorted check-in at our 2 rooms quite quickly. At £63 per room, not the cheapest we've paid to stay here, but not that bad either.

We also appreciate the security on the door when we return in the early hours after a night out and that we can carry on our evening at the hotel bar - again, friendly staff.

Breakfast is the usual PI offering, but pretty good value as it includes all-you-can-eat English and continental breakfast and Costa coffee.

But, there are two main downsides to this hotel:

1. The bathroom - sliding door is too noisy and is impossible to open without lighting up the main bedroom and the sink is located in the bedroom which is disturbing for your fellow guest

2. Lifts - 2 lifts are nowhere near sufficient for 12 floors with min. 10 rooms per floor. We were on the 8th floor and waited....and waited....and waited....but the lift never stopped in either direction. It went to 11 and 12, filled up and then went back to 3 where reception is located. We ended up carrying our bags down 10+ flights to the parking area. Not good when you have mates with bad backs.

Sadly, we'll now think twice about coming back given the lift issue. Not sure what has happened as we never had trouble with the lifts previously.

Room Tip: Floor as close to Reception on floor 3 if you don't want to hike bags up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N00ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a nice hotel but for budget I found it pricey. Reception is on the third floor and we walked right past it. Stood at the bar with our luggage waiting to find out how to book in. Three staff behind the bar, all serving. One girl said she'd come over when she'd finished and told us the reception area was back round the corner where we'd come in. I small upright welcome desk with nobody manning it. We discovered another member of staff tucked behind a table in the corner and were dealt with. The other girl never showed up.
On a brighter note, the rooms are nice, beds comfortable, very clean.
Couldn't get a proper wash at the sink as it was tiny and the tap was huge. It was a disabled room so don't know whether the sinks are any bigger in standard rooms but this one was simply ridiculous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeandawayDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This particular hotel is significantly different from that used previously in Sheffield as it has it's own underground car parks included in the complex. Card key provides secure access to all floors, lifts and car park, you need it with you always apart from the main lobby/public rooms. It is well presented and has good ambience from the moment you enter the check-in area with attentive staff and a more 'up-market' feel than other similar inns recently used in the UK. This certainly extends to the public rooms of the hotel with an extensive bar and dining facility, all well lit and welcoming as were the staff. Breakfast was up to the usual high standard of Premier Inn's with a very good range of cereals, freshly prepared fruits and breads, as well the usual cooked options. The hotel is close to an excellent range of friendly local pubs and some great ales, as well as an almost endless range of well priced and excellent foods of all regions. Rooms very comfortable and with improved bathroom facilities, particularly the showers. Still have to pay for extended WiFi usage >30 minutes. . . . Air conditioning and heating all worked as required. Why is every/any hotel room 'too warm' on arrival these days?

Room Tip: Although located adjacent to main city centre road, no obvious traffic sounds to interrupt sleep. Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kievski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Nicely presented hotel which was clean and tidy. The staff were excellent. Each person we encountered was accommodating, friendly and helpful. Well trained and great assets.
But, what a noisy room. Just opening the sliding door to the bathroom was such a noisy experience the 2nd person was woken. The shower squeeked and squealed the vents groaned loudly. Having the sink in the bedroom was also disruptive to the second person.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjpbingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing