We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great time and can't rate it highly enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a great time and can't rate it highly enough”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The room was very comfortable and clean with excellent facilities and my wife was particularly impressed with the comfort of the bed.
The rooms were quiet and well ventilated although somewhere to lock away valuables would have been appreciated.
The breakfast we had was outstanding. Plenty of choice and really high quality.
We both agreed that we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DukeOfMarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    380
    91
    21
    13
See reviews for
336
347
96
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Met here for a night out with 3 girl friends. Excellent first impressions with secure, free parking under the hotel. Receptionist was friendly, outgoing and very helpful. Bar food average but service above average. Breakfast again average but good enough. Bedroom was as expected from this style of hotel. Bed comfortable, dark curtains, quiet - no street noise in room 508. Bathroom only has shower but clean with plenty of hot water. Hotel felt secure and you had to use your room key fob to access the hotel if you came in late. Hotel 5 mins walk to shops and bars but for some really nice ones you needed to walk about a bit further say 15 mins to get to Leopold Street and West One. area. All staff deserve a mention as they were so cheerful and that made us feel even more satisfied with our choice of hotel. We all said we would happily use the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Can't say enough about how great this Hotel was for the price. The whole Hotel was immaculately clean, well kept and modern. Sure, it has the sort of quality furnishings which make Premier Inn's so cheap but when it is as clean as this, that hardly matters.

Staff were fantastic from check in right through to breakfast in the morning (which at £7 for all you can eat including drinks is not to be missed).

Definitely a great hotel which i would have recommended even if the price were more expensive!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustymagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is as per the usual standard for Premier Inns but as a city centre hotel I was really surprised by the free parking and modern fit out of the hotel including the rooms.

Most city centre budget hotels are priced at a premium due to the location but we walked 5minutes to an area with loads of restuarants, bars and pubs which made for an excellent evening.

I'd highly recommend it as an ideal city break hotel and will come back when I'm overnght in Sheffield in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Not a single negative point in regards to this hotel.
Clean - Good food - Great staff- Modern environment

Room Tip: floors of the hotel are sectored -
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank griffin5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I've stayed in a number of "budget" hotels where the operative part of the stay is the "you get what you pay for!" element. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's fairly central in Sheffield but it is a bit of a walk to get into the heart of the city. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay. The welcome was warm - from a friendly young crew who actually seemed to know what they were doing (unlike some I've met!). The real surprise was the "Meal Deal" I selected on-line. I couldn't be bothered to walk around to find a restaurant so I chose their 3 course dinner & breakfast deal. The dinner was well-cooked, very tasty and very good value for money. Breakfast was likewise. I chose to get up a little earlier to relax over breakfast rather than cramming it down and running off for the taxi for work - and ended up chatting to the hotel staff! All in all, a very pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taliesyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Having stayed at previous Premier Inns I found this top be one or if not the nicest.Location was good Car Parking Excellent (with security)Check Inn good Staff and Cleanliness excellent.Would definately book this one again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runcorngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing