We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern hotel with large rooms and handy for city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good modern hotel with large rooms and handy for city centre”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed two nights on boozy weekend. Conveniently placed on ring road but close enough to nightlife areas.
Room immaculate, shower spacious with seat but strangely sink outside in the main room which was a bit irritating.
Staff friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Walk to university appears short but is uphill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlRobis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    390
    94
    21
    14
See reviews for
349
362
97
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Things got off to a slightly odd start when I received a call round lunch time on the day of our stay advising of an issue with my booking. I was told that they had the booking, it was paid for and the room was ready (always good to get this detail in when saying there is a slight issue!) but that for the check-in system to accept me they required the name of the other person staying, as I had advised there would be two people in the room. No harm done as I provided details, but as I say, odd. Not sure if this is a genuine issue, whether it's a Premier Inn requisite, or whether they were looking to bump someone into a single room?

Made our way into Sheffield and towards the hotel. If you know Sheffield it's a 10-15 minute walk there from the station, but if you're not au fait with it then it's a bit of a pig to find and may take a bit longer. It's on the edge of the centre, but certainly not far from anywhere you might be heading within. When we arrived we headed up to the reception on the third floor and checked-in. As a newer Premier Inn, check-in is done through a 'self' service machine, but in reality the staff are talking you through the whole process anyway. Talking of the staff they were all very approachable and helpful, but barring handing the door card over at the end this was the only interaction we had.

Went to our room on the 8th Floor and were met with a clean spacious room in the Premier Inn colour scheme. It consisted of a double bed which seemed pretty comfy (I'd had a bit to drink that night, so can't comment as to how beneficial it was for a good night's sleep), wardrobe, tea making facilities and a television with… wait for it… Freeview! Excuse the sarcasm, the Premier Inn website is pushing this as something amazing, which it clearly isn't.

There was also, rather unusually, a basin in the main room rather than in the bathroom. Not an issue, there evidently isn't room in the actual bathroom - which consisted a toilet and shower cubicle - so why not make use of the available space.

Due to its location I do think it's quieter here than other central choices. I didn't find an issue with noise at night, but think my wife did a little; however this is pretty usual for us as I'm the deeper sleeper.

Didn't have breakfast here, but if cooked properly and supplies are restocked then £8 for all you can eat seems reasonable. We headed to Sheffield's glamorous Moor area and opted for a cob and hot drink from Greggs for £2 instead.

A few other people have mentioned the lifts being a problem. When we got there and when we headed out in the evening they were fine, but come the morning one of the two was out of order. Mrs. Robinho decided to wait for the lift and I decided that as I had to drop the door card off that I might as well take the stairs. So I went from the 8th to the 3rd floor, dropped the card off, then went down to the Ground floor and waited. And waited. And waited. One lift for this hotel is not enough, so if you do see one isn't working then take the stairs as it is definitely the quciker option.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonRobinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

I thought the dinner and breakfast offer was very good with first class food.

Nice clean and spacious room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crikeytrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

After searching for a hotel far enough out the city center to escape the noise but near enough to walk, we chose the Premier Inn, St Mary's Gate.
Really pleased we did as everything really was spot-on. Even though we arrived more than 2 hours before check-in the receptionist discovered the room was actually ready and allowed us to check in early. One thing that really stands out is the friendliness and helpfullness of all the staff we encountered.
We stayed on the top floor and had great views over Sheffield. The room was no-frills but perfectly adequate for a short stay. Everything looked as new from the furniture, bedding and carpet and I can honestly say we've never stayed at a hotel so immacculately clean. The housekeeping staff do a fantastic job here. Same with the restaurant, great breakfast with everything you could possibly want to start your day. We had dinner one night and it was really good, plenty of choice and in a nice setting.
Security is also good, your door card is required for hotel access on an evening and also to the corridor your room is on.
When I return to Sheffield I would book this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiejOnes061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thanks for your review of our hotel. It is great that our clean hotel and facilities met your expectations and your stay was a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Room great; very clean, warm and spacious. Hotel quiet but only 10 min walk to city centre. Lovely looking bar/eating area. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. It was a bargain price too!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winnieg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and i have just returned from a one night stay at this lovely clean and friendly hotel.The staff were all friendly,and nothing seemed too much trouble for them.This was our second stay here and we will most certainly be back.Thank you all

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

The location of the hotel was ideal for my needs, and the underground car park meant I could leave my car there safely for the duration of my stay. All the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and surprisingly quiet - I slept well every night.
I didn't eat at the hotel, but the bar area was comfortable - I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyS_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you were comfortable and well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing