We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Sheffield”
Review of Rajput

Rajput
Ranked #272 of 1,455 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best in Sheffield”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I go to Rajput regularly and it is one of the best Indian restaurants in Sheffield. My favourites are the chana puri and chicken tika saag. I would definitely recommend a visit to this restaurant if you have never been. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    40
    17
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as good as their take away was”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I went here with boyfriend felt judged by staff member who stared at me like I was promiscuous or something

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justine700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Indian Restaurant….”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A Great Indian Restaurant, but three things to think about before going.

1) They don’t have a drinks licence, so remember to take your own, or nip out, which is what I had to do, at the suggestion of the staff, to the local office licence just up the road called “The Dram”, which sells beers and wines, the restaurant will open your bottles, but you may have to wait as the waiters are busy, “The Dram” will also “open” any bottle tops that need it.

2) The place gets very busy, so not really a good place for a romantic evening, if that’s what you thought you might do, they have tables of many sizes, however it is a small place, and a lot of people use it for birthday groups of up to 20, so the atmosphere is lively and buzzing. Packed restaurant at 8:30pm so it speaks for itself. I understand that some other reviewers feel they have been rushed off their table but I feel it's justified, as you can’t just expect to sit there for hours. However as the service is quick we sat down on time and finished at 10pm, even after taking time out to get beer from up the road, and did not feel rushed.

3) Book your table in advance don’t expect to roll up and get a table, as above its very popular and very busy.

So to the food, I have no complaints at all, great service and food. Tasty, quality dishes, very fresh tasting, but more importantly the food was excellent, Indian food where you could actually taste the meat and the spices, and didn’t think it was too expensive, poppadum’s, 2 starters and 2 main meals £32.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 126iana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great food
Abut pricey but it has a great atmosphere and bring your own policy!
Great for locals or to jump in a taxi from those that live in city centre

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Harri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab Saturday Night.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked for Saturday at eight, when we got there it was ram. The atmosphere was buzzing and we waited 10 minutes until our table was free. When it was, the waiters were like lightning as they cleared it and set it for us. They showed us to our table and opened our beers and wines, and brought us a cooler for the wine.
We checked out the menu and ordered. No great delay until we were served, and the waiters were attentive and professional. Although I'm not a massive curry fan, I thought all the dishes were tasty, (I tried a bit of everything), and hot, and well presented.
The bill was about right for the type of food we ordered, and the restaurant was busy all night. We thoroughly enjoyed it, and will be eating there again in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pabs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajput also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Rajput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing