We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good luck trying to book”

Silversmiths Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 1,428 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $58
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Silversmiths is a multi award-winning independently owned restaurant in Sheffield city centre. We present a true Yorkshire dining experience that is founded on history and embraces fresh innovative sourcing and presentation. Our ethos is to select the best Yorkshire produce, support regional farmers and bring our customers a true field to plate experience. Welcome to Silversmiths "The Yorkshire Restaurant"
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good luck trying to book”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I would love to write a review on this restaurant, unfortunately the reservation system is so frustrating we never actually made it !

when told that one person is reponsible for handling all the reservations you would think that at the very least the system should be faultless, think again, it is ridiculous, lack of information on the website, no communication from the person responsible for reservations & a total lack of customer care when we actually got to speak to someone.
If this is how you're made to feel just trying to book I dread to think what the service must be like in the actual restaurant ! we were actually trying to book as a couple,but as professional people we also entertain clients, so the business that they have now missed out on could be quite substantial.
Would not even attempt to book again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Any B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    197
    113
    78
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid if you like choice, style, good service & decent food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Where do I begin; this should have been a special night out for a large family group, but were left sorely disappointed. They did not have all the choice of their supposed 'special' pie dishes on the evening, in fact less than half the choice. Our starters came luke warm & were practically thrown at us. The main courses (mainly the pie specials) were lacking in variety in the fillings, & were stodgy at best. They brought out the wrong puddings for some of our party & took ages to correct this. The local bottled beers, although I expected to pay a bit more than a local pub, were priced extortionately. Finally, the bill was wrong, in fact nearly 50% more, as they made big blunders in what they believed we had ordered. This was supposed to be a place rejuvenated by the intervention of a high profile TV chef. Our local plumber could have made a better job. Avoid avoid!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank mnm_go_touring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silversmiths, Owner at Silversmiths Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we of course really disappointed if your visit did not meet expectations. I must respond as the points raised in you review are somewhat confusing.

You wrote - They did not have all the choice of their supposed 'special' pie dishes on the evening, in fact less than half the choice.
Our response – on a weekday night we have at around 8-9 main course options and usually 3 of these are pies. It’s possible we may have sold out of one or even two of these pie options which can happen with unpredictably high demand for one type of pie. As we did explain to your party on the night, to avoid waste (which no business in a recession can afford) and as all our food is made freshly each day we only make set amount of each dish. As we said on the night, we are sorry if the dishes some of your guests wanted were not available although you did still have a choice of around 7 other main courses... usually enough for any diner.

You wrote - Our starters came lukewarm & were practically thrown at us. The main courses (mainly the pie specials) were lacking in variety in the fillings, & were stodgy at best.
Our response – No one mentioned lukewarm starters on the night so its hard to comment other than this is not as problem we ever really have, also if all your starters were lukewarm I don’t know why this was not raised by your guests at the time?
As for you starter being practically thrown at you I sure you will agree by reading the previous reviews that this 100% does not sound like an experience you would ever receive from the Silversmiths team.
Stodgy at best... if this was the standard of Silversmiths pies then I’m sure you’d agree we would not sell over 130-140 pies per week; every week; 49 weeks a year.

You wrote - They brought out the wrong puddings for some of our party & took ages to correct this.
Our response – I believe 1 dessert was misheard by your server and yes it would have taken about 10 minutes (ages?) to correct as the new dessert would have been made freshly.

You wrote - The local bottled beers, although I expected to pay a bit more than a local pub, were priced extortionately.
Our response – the price of our bottled beer is appropriate for a city centre restaurant. I spoke with Kelham Island directly who state all restaurants they supply do charge between £3.50 and £4.50 for a 500mm bottle (Silversmiths is therefore average). A rule of thumb is about one penny per millilitre of volume (hence a standard 330mm bottle of lager is around £3.30 in most restaurants and a 500mm should really be £5,00). Yes it does sound a lot compared with a pint in your local pub... but you cannot compare apples and oranges.

You wrote - the bill was wrong, in fact nearly 50% more, as they made big blunders in what they believed we had ordered.
Our response – I was alerted to a mistake on your bill but certainly not 50% more. An honest mistake which was apologised for and immediately corrected.
You wrote - This was supposed to be a place rejuvenated by the intervention of a high profile TV chef.

Our response – indeed it was and Gordon is extremely pleased to see our most recent accolades in the last 2 months alone (Good Food Guide 2013, “Runner Up Observer Food Monthly Restaurant of The Year” and “Winner Eat Sheffield Best Informal Dining”)

You wrote - Our local plumber could have made a better job.
Our response – This is great news as we are recruiting a new member for the kitchen over the busy Christmas period... your local plumber sounds ideal! So if you could ask him to forward his CV will would love to invite him in for interview. Thanks for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Had a wonderful night here! The food was first class. Would definitely recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely interior, excellent service and wonderful food. Enjoyed everything about it. Would like to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Memorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Classy and unpretentious, in Sheffield for the weekend and there seems to be a dearth of decent quality restaurants, this one was the exception that proves the rule.
Attentive service, competitive prices and quality food, only minor niggle was the rabbit tasted bland!
Definitely worth a go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZincD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, service and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I visited this restaurant on Saturday, early evening, after an afternoon shopping to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were a party of five and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We found the atmosphere very welcoming after our trip round Sheffield. We chose from the Early Bird menu. I had the Cauliflower & Yorkshire rarebit tartlet with Silversmiths chutney which was really delicious. Other choices for starters in our party were the Whitby shellfish cocktail and Devilled shredded beef brisket, which were both reported as superb. Crisp skin Whitby hake with chorizo was exceptionally tasty and the cabbage served with it complimented it perfectly. Those choosing the belly pork said it was the best they had tasted. The Yorkshire parkin was so good that we all wished we could fit in another piece. All washed down with delicious sauvignon blanc. We felt the meal was excellent value. The service was friendly and attentive and the staff were pleased to inform us about the local sourcing of the food and indeed even the tea! We would all recommend this restaurant and will definitely be back soon. Thanks to Justin and his staff for a lovely evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skelmanthorpe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silversmiths Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Silversmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing