We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful night here! The food was first class. Would definitely recommend.”

Silversmiths Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 1,447 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $76
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Silversmiths is a multi award-winning independently owned restaurant in Sheffield city centre. We present a true Yorkshire dining experience that is founded on history and embraces fresh innovative sourcing and presentation. Our ethos is to select the best Yorkshire produce, support regional farmers and bring our customers a true field to plate experience. Welcome to Silversmiths "The Yorkshire Restaurant"
1 review
“Had a wonderful night here! The food was first class. Would definitely recommend.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely interior, excellent service and wonderful food. Enjoyed everything about it. Would like to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    200
    113
    78
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Classy and unpretentious, in Sheffield for the weekend and there seems to be a dearth of decent quality restaurants, this one was the exception that proves the rule.
Attentive service, competitive prices and quality food, only minor niggle was the rabbit tasted bland!
Definitely worth a go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZincD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, service and value”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I visited this restaurant on Saturday, early evening, after an afternoon shopping to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were a party of five and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We found the atmosphere very welcoming after our trip round Sheffield. We chose from the Early Bird menu. I had the Cauliflower & Yorkshire rarebit tartlet with Silversmiths chutney which was really delicious. Other choices for starters in our party were the Whitby shellfish cocktail and Devilled shredded beef brisket, which were both reported as superb. Crisp skin Whitby hake with chorizo was exceptionally tasty and the cabbage served with it complimented it perfectly. Those choosing the belly pork said it was the best they had tasted. The Yorkshire parkin was so good that we all wished we could fit in another piece. All washed down with delicious sauvignon blanc. We felt the meal was excellent value. The service was friendly and attentive and the staff were pleased to inform us about the local sourcing of the food and indeed even the tea! We would all recommend this restaurant and will definitely be back soon. Thanks to Justin and his staff for a lovely evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skelmanthorpe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I were enjoying a city break in Sheffield and stumbled upon Silversmiths quite late on Saturday night. Despite the late hour and that the restaurant was already busy with a large table due to arrive, the owner and his staff were inviting and managed to find us a table. We had Whitby shellfish cocktail to start and then the rump steak and roast pumpkin and squash risotto, some fine wine and finished off with some amazing expresso martini cocktails. Highly recommended and a great buzz about the place, we will no doubt return soon. keep up the good work.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niapetrabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best Food I Have Had In Sheffield For A Long Time!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner and I visited Silversmiths for the first time on Saturday night. We had pigeon and yorkshire pudding for starters followed by steak and belly pork for main. Sheffield is renound for its lack of good restaurants however the food here was outstanding. Along with good wine and a couple of espresso martinis (a must try)! this was the best dining experience I have had in sheffield for a very long time. I will def be back and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KSav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silversmiths Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Silversmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing