We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab experience - who needs bland city centre hotels?!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House Boat Hotels Ltd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
House Boat Hotels Ltd
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab experience - who needs bland city centre hotels?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night as we were going to a gig at the Motorpoint Arena, yes - we could have paid a bit less for a bland city centre hotel but the few extra pounds were worth it for the experience! I was beaming from our arrival at Millie Grace - a fab boat: clean, comfortable, cosy and with some lovely extra touches. The location is only a short 5-10 minute walk to the city centre yet feels safe and surprisingly tranquil and there is parking available right next to the boat (parking permits provided by the owners). There was good communication with the owners both prior to and on arrival (and after, when I realised I had left something behind on the boat...) The only disappointment was that we weren't staying for longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nottingham_UKBeanbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    15
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
32
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed on the Laila Mae houseboat for 2 nights. The location is great and surprisingly quiet. The houseboat was fantastic in every way and offered so much more freedom and independence than any hotel. Although there is no wifi, there is good reception for BT accounts! It was good to have use of the gym and spa facilities at the very close Hilton, and there are a few cafés on the quayside. Parking was right outside the boat, and there were no charges to go in and out of the quay. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay on the boat and cannot fault it in any way. The owners are also extremely friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Just have an open mind and be immersed in the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
373 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Like others, we stayed here because it is different to the usual city centre hotels. Located very near Sheffield's city centre, on an old Victorian canal wharf, which is part of a British waterways canal basin, it is an ideal spot. We stayed two days and nights in lovely sunny weather. There is a small cafe alongside for lovely bacon butties to bring on deck for breakfast. Also the back entrance to the Hilton Hotel with its spa, Costa Cafe, bar and restaurant is located here. Perfectly handy for your houseboat. We arrived by train and its only a ten minute walk from the station. The owner. Mel Perry, is extremely helpful. A very slight hiccup on the first night was immediately resolved the next day. Highly recommended and we hope to be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We had just returned after 5 lovely days on these amazing boats. This is our 3rd visit in 8 months and each time we go, it just keeps getting better and better. The owner Mel is lovely and takes care of your every need, nothing is too much trouble. The boats are very new and modern beautiful inside and out. The local area is great and there's plenty to do within a few minutes walk of the boats. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Sheffield please look no further, you won't be disappointed. We are already booked in for June and very shortly we will book again for October time. This truly is an amazing experience one that you will never forget and one that you'll want to repeat over and over again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

When we found out our friend was getting married in Sheffield, we wanted to stay somewhere different, so when i came across this houseboat on the internet i knew it was perfect for us. The houseboat is well priced and accommodated four of us comfortably. The owner Mel had contacted me on the day of arrival to ensure we had arrived safely, but as we were still travelling up, she left the heating on for us which was an added touch. The beds were comfortable. The boat was extremely clean. The little kitchen was perfect, we could store drinks in the fridge and make breakfast in the morning. There were enough heaters, pillows and duvets for us. It was a bit chilly at night but it was February and therefore was expected. The bathroom was petite but well sized for the boat. There was a bit of difficulty with the hot water one morning but warmed up after an hour or so. There was a tv, games, radio, information about the local area, ironing board etc. It felt like home for the couple of days we stayed. Both myself and my friends loved this houseboat and we are now planning our next houseboat stay. I would stay here again. It was very close to the station but our taxi driver did need a few directions. The only suggestion we had was to have a stock of teabags, coffee and milk on the boat.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Booked as a rare romantic night away from the children. We enjoyed every minute. I would suggest that the bad reviews are ignored as they are likely to apply to the previous older boats. The two boats on offer are very modern and very clean. Mel also left us a bottle of wine that we were not expecting. Parking outside, lovely quirky pubs within walking distance. The toilet was not great at flushing, we only stayed overnight, so could not comment on the shower, but this is a boat not a hotel and would guess that these minor issues are part and parcel of that. I hope we are able to book as a small group in the future, because it would make a great girlie night out. Discount for the local health centre too if required.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockstarladygaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I decided to stay with House Boat Hotels as part of a birthday treat with partner and friends and did not know what to expect! On arrival on the Quay (accessible by barrier) we immediately felt at home as the area is really nice and very serene, the boat itself has adequate parking and with its blue and cream livery looks bright and modern, we were given all the info we needed by the owners to access the Quay and boat. Once on board the boat is lovely, quaint wood panelled and cosy, all our party were impressed and the boat has everything you need for your stay. We had a good comfortable nights sleep and a nice breakfast on board in the morning.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay that's a bit different to the norm then these boats are highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#26 of 54 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Boat Hotels Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Boat Hotels Ltd

Property: House Boat Hotels Ltd
Address: Victoria Quays / Wharf Street, Sheffield S2 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House Boat Hotels Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your House Boat Hotels Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Boat Hotels Ltd Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing