We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic break, a must for everyone!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House Boat Hotels Ltd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
House Boat Hotels Ltd
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic break, a must for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked to stay on lily may, but just before we arrived we found out that there were new owners with their own new boats. I have to say that the new owners Mel and Mark gave us such a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The two new boats are amazing, very comfortable and everything you need is there. The Quays Bar 1819 is just a few steps away from the boat, but the area is still very quiet, the spa facilities at the Hilton Hotel is also a few steps away. I would recommend these boats to anyone and we enjoyed it so much we've booked again for September. We stayed for three nights with the intention of going out and about in Sheffield, but we enjoyed the boat that much we didn't venture further than the immediate area. Please give these boats a try for a break with a difference you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    15
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
32
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This 'hotel' is a must do if you are in the area. We booked an overnight stay on board house boat hotels for something different to do. How fortunate we were to find that the business had been bought by Mel very recently and 2 absolutely fab boats had been introduced. The boat we were in is stunning. It is extremely clean and really well equipped. All reviews prior to June 2013 are likely to relate to the old boats and previous owners - do not pay these reviews any heed. House boat hotels is fantastic and I definitely recommend it - we look forward to coming back soon. Thanks for a fab stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikecox1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I found this on laterooms, as a business traveller I get bored of the standard box type rooms you get in the hotels. I'm so glad I stumbled on this! BRAND NEW boats decked out immaculately, I met Wendy, the new owner, lovely lady and her husband, who showed me how everything works and made sure there was plenty of water on board so I could shower etc. I sat out on deck, fed the ducks, watched the fish (huge!) swimming around.
Literally a 5 minute walk into the city centre. An idyllic, peaceful setting, with no outside noise, good comfy beds, very spacious and everything catered for if you we're staying longer, cups cutlery etc.
The reviews on here are based on the old boats, these are NEW boats with a great specification.
Book it, you'll not be disappointed"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed on Lily May for an experience. It cost as much as the Holiday Inn express just across the road, although the rooms at holiday inn are far cleaner, quieter, and comes with breakfast. Found the boat not as clean as it could be and appliances did not work. Was not impressed and would not be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavi_sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are expecting the Ritz forget it but is you are looking for a fun and interesting place to spend the night in the centre of Sheffield and you are of an adventurous nature then Lily May if likely to delight you with its quirkyness!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrogateStray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

having read the previous reviews wasn't sure what we would get however it was a fantastic quirky place to stay. If you are open minded and see this for what it is you will be fine. yes there are stains on the blinds but really is that important? are you going to stay in and stare at the blinds? if the answer is yes go stay somewhere else.the bed is really comfortable probably one of the best beds i have slept in. the location is fantastic lovely canal walks and there is a bar right opposite the boat where you can get breakfast, a drink, lunch or tea there is a seating area outside the boat this was wonderful but it is not a hotel, if you want a hotel go somewhere else if you want a unique wonderful place to stay with quirks and is a 5 minute walk into town then go for this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catrionrobb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We decided to take up an offer through Unique Escapes who had a wide choice of different and "Unique" accomodation on offer. I'd always wanted to stay on a barge so we opted for this stay. Finding the place was a bit of a strugle but once found and got in it was warm and cozy
I wasn't overly impressed with the inside of the boat, a bit old and tired looking. the seating area is slightly raised up and this just lead to us always tripping on it, the seats too could be repaced with ones that are deeper as it wasn't too comfy.
We did use the wood burner but the glass in this is broken and seems to have been for a while and i think that is dangerous
The amount of cobwebs on the boat were too much for my liking too! don't worry i cleaned them off
I would love it if there was a propper welcome pack in the barge, showing where to go and what was in the area.
We did have a good wee stay and it snowed on the morning of our trip.

Over all If this was given a refurb inside i would love to come back

Room Tip: You only get one room no choise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.4 mi away
Cutlers Hotel
Cutlers Hotel
#32 of 54 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Boat Hotels Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Boat Hotels Ltd

Property: House Boat Hotels Ltd
Address: Victoria Quays / Wharf Street, Sheffield S2 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House Boat Hotels Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your House Boat Hotels Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Boat Hotels Ltd Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing