We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay with a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
House Boat Hotels Ltd
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Stay with a difference”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Arrived here late as our car broke down. Started off bad as we had a job to find the boat then we couldn't undo the lock - had to ring and found we had been given the wrong code.
Once inside things improved - it was lovely and warm and they had even left a lamp on for us. Some nice little touches like some port had been left plus some milk and water in the fridge.
It happened to be the windest night we have had all winter and the boat was rocking a bit. The beds were nice and comfortable.
Everything was clean although the boat could do with a little bit of upgrading. Coal and wood was left for us for the fire but we never lit.
Would stay here again as it was an overnight stay that was a bit different.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meinir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
32
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Despite the marina being frozen over we were a little surprised to find the fire wasn't lit as per the websites description. In fact it hadn't been cleaned since the last guests. There were also no logs or coal on the boat. No problem we thought, we' 'll just go and buy a couple of bags and get ready for the snow.

Once we warmed the boat through we had a lovely night on-board. We went for a walk the next morning and were a little surprised to find that someone had let themselves in and was cleaning. This hadn't been mentioned to us at any point. Rather than complain we went for a drive to get out of the way as we could not access the boat while this was going on as there wasn't room.

The final straw was when we returned an hour and a half later to find the coal that we had paid for had been taken. So despite it being minus three outside we yet again had no fuel.

We booked this as a treat for our anniversary and after all this decided enough was enough and came home. It's a real shame as the boat is great and people living nearby were really friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

When I booked it seemed like a long way off... I picked the place mainly because it was a unique place to stay and because it was pet friendly. But on the day of arrival I got a text with the special code for the door lock. The owner then called me and gave me personalised dirrections and another combination for the carpark; this was incredibly helpful. When we arrived we couldn't believe our eyes the boat Lily May was charming and quaint. Absolutely beautiful... It is in a very central location and only 10-15 minutes walk from town at even my pace. They provide you with logs for the log burner and the kitchen is well equipt. There is free view and the beds were just heavenly. We'd stay here again and again x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived at 5 on Wednesday evening to a walm boat with port left for us n the bedding smelled lovely we booked the mallard got the next day after asking if we did could we move from lily may to the mallard both was lovely but different stays we swapped over at 11.45 from one to another, mags the cleaner is a lovely lady to and Kathryn also introduced her self to us as well will come back again and again so peaceful n lovely

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belsasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Staying on a canal boat in Sheffield canal basin could have been brilliant. And the location certainty was. With reflections of the lights on the water playing on the ceiling at night it was quite charming.
But a lot of small problems added up to a big one.
Despite changing the gas cylinder there wasn't enough gas pressure to boil a kettle.
A match box was provided to light the gas, but almost all the matches were dead.
The instructions for using the chemical toilet were just plain wrong. A flood of pee all over the floor was not a good start to the stay.
There was supposed to be a DVD player. We couldn't find it.
Fittings were tatty: The porthole cover catch over the bed was missing. The toilet door wouldn't shut from the inside. One of the lights didn’t work.
And there was no welcome or introduction when we arrived.
This was a very expensive B & B, even without the breakfast. We expected it to be quirky, and Lilliputian. But this was a rip-off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meurig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last august, from the word go the service and correspondence we received was fantastic. We had in depth texts and email informing us of how to access the boat and when it was free.

We stayed in the Mallard which we found cost, comfy and clean. There was wine left in the fridge with two glasses on top although we didn't drink it as we weren't sure if it was free....perhaps a hint would have been worthwhile. CDs were left for our enjoyment and although it wasn't really our favourite music it was lovely for listening to whilst opening up the hatches and looking across the canal.

We were fine temperature wise although it rained all weekend and I wouldn't want it any colder. The was a fire we were allowed to use along with newspaper and coal, however only one match, so when that failed to strike and we had no lighter or any other form of flame we were a bit disappointed!!

Overall enjoyed the experience, not overly expensive and a little taste of something different!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I had a great time staying on the Lily May. It was fun, clean and comfortable. The location was great just 5 mins from the city centre and you can access the trams around Sheffield. It was also quiet with little people traffic, and a nice place for breakfast on the quay..
I nearly did not book this boat after I had read reviews on here, but I am glad I did. I think that you have to remember that you ARE on a boat and its not a hotel-this is better. This is not owned by a big cooperation, and mass produced, this has character. If you have a bit of crack about you , you will love this if not book the premier inn….

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 112holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.3 mi away
Best Western Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Boat Hotels Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Boat Hotels Ltd

Property: House Boat Hotels Ltd
Address: Victoria Quays / Wharf Street, Sheffield S2 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House Boat Hotels Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your House Boat Hotels Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Boat Hotels Ltd Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing