We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sheffield
Post
Inbox
Search

“Steak served uncooked 3times to pregnant customer”

Ego at The Dore Moor Inn, Sheffield
Ranked #132 of 1,846 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ego at The Dore Moor Inn is a beautifully refurbished Mediterranean inspired pub and restaurant set on the edge of The Peak District National Park. Located only a few miles from Sheffield City Centre and en route to many of The Peak’s visitor attractions, walking and cycling routes, Ego at The Dore Moor Inn is a must visit for its Mediterranean food, family friendly dining, local cask ales and Sunday roasts. This Mediterranean inspired pub and restaurant is ideal for large groups, special occasions, family celebrations, and intimate dining.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really dreadful experience tonight.

We ordered a well done steak on the basis that when pregnant you cannot eat raw beef as it contains toxoplasmosis which can be very dangerous. We explained why we were ordering a “really well done” steak but it came out raw then second time still pink then a third time totally black. I had ordered garlic butter for the top but none came after the first attempt. Found this all quite stressful and ruined the evening entirely. I can cook a well done steak without it being like charcoal and I am not a chef. I had a well done steak at miller and carter and it was beautifully cooked and presented. If I had a choice I’d have medium but I cannot do that at present - it isn’t my choice. Totally unacceptable and we won’t be coming back.

The restaurant itself is lovely but the chef really let it down. If u run a steak night surely u have to expect that some people will order it well done and the chef should be capable of cooking it in this way particularly when there is a medical reason for it.
Really unhappy! Went home and ate there.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Wheatleyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaSmithson, Other at Ego at The Dore Moor Inn, Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Please could you forward your contact details to info@egorestaurants.co.uk with the date and time of your visit and the reference DOR2101 and one of our team will be in touch to discuss your review with you,

Thank you..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a table here yesterday after seeing on the website that the Sunday roast is served until 6pm. When we arrived and tried to order our meal the waitress said they finish at 4pm. I said but that's not right it says 6 on the website and maybe that information needs amending. So then a manager came and said while it states 6pm that is subject to availability. I must admit I didn't see that but if this is the case, perhaps it should say served until 4 subject to availability and not 6. We reluctantly ordered something else and both opted for sirloin steak. It was fairly busy and apart from waiting around 25 minutes for our meals to be cooked, I noticed they had been plated and were there for a good 5 minutes before someone brought them to us. To be honest the food wasn't that hot but we ate it and left. We certainly won't be coming back

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Jools H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaSmithson, Other at Ego at The Dore Moor Inn, Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Yes our Sunday lunch is served 12-6pm, subject to availablity, so we are really sorry if we had sold out by the time that you dined with us. Please do let us know during your meal if there are any issues with your food so that we can have the oppertunity to rectify them for you - we would have happily replaced your meals if they weren't hot enough for you or helped in any other way we could.

Thank you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was lovely and a great price. Took a little time to get our bill but the food was lovely and we didn’t wait that long even though it was very busy.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Kerry411969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaSmithson, Other at Ego at The Dore Moor Inn, Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much Kerry - we do hope you can join us again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent loved the restaurant food and service so relaxing. We both throughly enjoyed our evening. Thank you

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Departure740056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaSmithson, Other at Ego at The Dore Moor Inn, Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wonderful feedback to read Debbie - thanks so much and see you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bit on the expensive side if not early or on the cheap night menu. Exactly same dishes on a la carte menu and offer menu but more expensive on former? Sort it.
Will not be in a rush to return.,

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AOSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaSmithson, Other at Ego at The Dore Moor Inn, Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Our Prix Fixe menu dishes are slightly different to our a la carte dishes and are served with different accompaniments, and yes, we do have amazing deals on some of our dishes during the week that we hope to be able to welcome you to in the future.

Thank you..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ego at The Dore Moor Inn, Sheffield also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Ego at The Dore Moor Inn, Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing