We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Got a very good deal through Laterooms, breakfast not included but we paid for it one morning and it was fine. Check-in was prompt and available at the advertised time (14:00).

This is a nice modern hotel, it doesn't feel tired or in need of a refurb in any way which many hotels nowadays do.

Its about a 15 minute walk in to the centre of town, wi-fi is free (but only in communal areas). The room itself was very nice and had a lovely en-suite bathroom and 32" LCD TV built in to the wall. Free parking is available next to the hotel but arrive early if there is a SUFC home game on as parking fills up quickly.

The hotel also has a great gym which we both used

Room service was prompt

Overall I would definately stay here again if I were visiting Sheffield

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actionslaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    412
    101
    36
    22
See reviews for
137
549
68
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We did a travelzoo deal here on 27 August. This included a 3 course set meal with a bottle of wine as well as breakfast. The evening meal was really nice with a good choice. The presentation was brilliant. The staff were very friendly and efficient and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The rooms were of a high standard. If you are in this area you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedroWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Previously I've stayed elsewhere in Sheffield but tried the Copthorne as I got the room for a complete steal (<£50) and needed somewhere with parking.

I have to say I was seriously impressed; it's new and well fitted out, the rooms are spacious and well finished, facilities were excellent (including the aforementioned parking and a really good gym)

I didn't eat dinner here but had breakfast, which was OK. Nice coffee. But as a place to stay it was very good, and superb value. It felt like a £150 a night hotel, so for the price I paid (less than a budget motel chain!) it was a no-brainer. I'd stay here again, without any hesitation

Downsides? No wifi in the rooms (bit lame in this day and age), the surrounding area is a bit rough around the edges, and as an Owl I did feel a bit unclean on account of the unpleasant red&white clad neighbours, but I held my nose and put up with it on account of the value ;-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pintpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Had a lovely couple of nights stay at the Copthorne last week, we used it as a base for visiting places in the Peak District. The hotel is very modern and attached to Sheffield United's ground which makes it more interesting for a football fan like me. The rooms are a good size and the bed was the most comfortable I've slept in for a long time. The staff were most helpful and polite whoever we spoke to. The only meals we had in the restaurant were breakfast and there was plenty of choice from the buffet and the quality was good. I would definitely stay here if I was coming to this area again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneSheffield, Marketing Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, September 6, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review as feedback is very important to us here at the Copthorne Hotel, Sheffield. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to see some of the local scenery.
We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Sheffield.
Best wishes from the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Excellent in every way. D,B and B rate fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klondyke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My partner and I have just returned home from a two night stay at the Copthorne Hotel in Sheffield. On arrival I think its fair to say we were a touch shocked that the hotel was practically attached to sheffield united FC, you could say its there USP! The best hotel of this price bracket we have stayed in. In fact better than some higher price range hotel's we have stayed in! The hotel is beautifully decorated, the rooms are spacious, again the decor great, super comfy beds!! we never wanted to get up! We booked the weekend last minute due to an amazing offer through another website, my partner was extremely dubious as the deal seemed to good to be true, but all was as expected and more. We paid a small extra supplement to upgrade our food menu on both nights, the restaurant was good, service was good, the ostrich!! I've never eaten Ostrich before, but we both ate it on both nights it was that nice, I have to say one of the nicest main meals i've ever eaten! We are avid gym goer's, the gym was ultra modern, and we enjoyed using it during our stay. The location may not seem great, however a short 20min drive in the car and your @ Meadow Hall shopping centre, which is a great place to shop. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and we felt like we'd robbed you ;0 If we were to come across the same deal again @ this hotel we would come back, xmas shopping perhaps?!

My only criticisms would be, the view from our room was not the best, although nothing that we didn't expect and didn't affect our stay in any way. I feel you need more staff on in the dining area at breakfast and dinner times, particularly breakfast, as you cater for a large number of guests and one chef trying to keep everything full, larger dishes of food and more staff to keep the levels of everything up as I did see people waiting around for the dishes to be refilled, check in was also a little slow, due to one member of staff checking in and getting the phones, but small suggestions, for a very well run hotel. Keep up the good work, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneSheffield, Marketing Executive at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, September 6, 2010
Thank you for posting your comments on this site. We're very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We value all feedback and will be passing on your comments to our staff as it is through such comments that we can continue to meet, and hopefully exceed, the expectations of our valued customers.
In the meantime we look forward to seeing you again on your return to Sheffield.
Best wishes from the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Booked this at the last minute on Friday night to stop as part of a deal which included evening meal and wine on Saturday night.
The room was very clean, modern bathroom, and spacious with settee and flat screen tv, and even an ironing board, and a fridge.
We upgraded to the al a carte menu and enjoyed some excellant food, the ostrich and chocolate sauce was just mmmm.
Breakfast was again of good qualty and hot, and all the staff were friendly and cheerful. A really good value booking which I would definitely come back again and enjoy.
Only downside was no real ale, a glass of white wine £7.95.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riw9471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing