We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good looking hotel from inside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
exeter
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very good looking hotel from inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed the rooms and the restuarant, Great decor and a really comfy bed

A Good restuarant with a good variety of meals

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exeterexpedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    404
    96
    34
    22
See reviews for
134
542
66
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

After reading all the positive reviews, my partner and I left feeling slighty dissapointed. Our first bedroom was uncomfortably hot when we checked in and the air con broken so we asked to move room, staff not helpful at all and we seemed to inconvenience them. There's no table service in the bar area even when fairly quite, menus were scruffy and tables left dirty. Breakfast was ok in the morning but the service was rather slow. Good car parking facilities though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRibeiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneSheffield, Marketing Executive at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Thank you for your comments which are most appreciated.
We do offer table service in our bar and lounge areas and I can assure you that all of your comments will be investigated.
We do hope to see you again on your return to Sheffield where we will endeavour to restore your faith in our services.

With best wishes from the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

I stay in Sheffield regularly and usually stay in the St Pauls in the centre which is a very nice hotel. As i was alone for this trip and had no need to be in the city centre then i decided to trust the Trip Advisor reviews and try this place out and i am glad i did. For Business travellers this hotel has everything you need, free car parking, a choice of where to eat, comfortable rooms and most importantly, free internet in the rooms!

The rooms are more akin to a boutique hotel than a standard Copthorne Hotel (I stay in the Merry Hill Copthorne regularly as well and they couldn't be more different !) and are very comfortable and trendy indeed.

The hotel was also £30 cheaper than comparable city centre hotels so although it is probably too far to walk into the city, this is cheap enough to make it a viable choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chipie73Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneSheffield, Marketing Executive at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We're delighted that we matched up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you're next in Sheffield.
It's only a 10 min walk into the city centre so if you fancy a stroll please ask one of our staff for directions.

Best wishes from the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

An overall excellent hotel. Situated in the corner of the Sheffield United ground on Bramall Lane you are only a 15 min stroll away from the heart of the city of Sheffield. We stayed at this hotel as a weekend treat having come across a particularly good rate on the hotel's website: £79 for room, 3-course dinner in the 1855 restaurant and breakfast - for 2 adults we thought this was a real bargain!

On arrival we were not disappointed. The room was among one of the best that we have stayed in with an absolutely huge bathroom (we had a double shower, free standing 'oval' shaped bath with a separate toilet room). The weather was rather warm during our visit and the air conditioning in the room was very good, which was a godsend! The air conditioning in the public areas, however, particularly in the hotel restaurant, was not so great and it was rather uncomfortable at times.

We did dine in the hotel's 1855 in the evening as we had booked a rate which had a 3-course dinner included. The only niggle that we had was when booking this rate it did not state that there were restrictions on what you could order within your 3-course dinner 'allowance' however when we checked out of the hotel we noticed an additional charge to our room. When we queried this we were informed that the 3-course dinner 'allowance' is £25 per person. The food was very good indeed and for the rate that we paid we could certainly not complain. However if booking this rate please do be aware of this 'allowance' as it does not state this anywhere on the hotel's website nor on your booking confirmation.
Breakfast in the restaurant was good, a little more limited in choice than other 4* hotels that we have stayed in, but nevertheless the food was good.

The hotel bar had a wide selection of drinks which were reasonably priced (we paid £7.30 for a pint of beer and a spirit and mixer). They sadly do not have a cocktail menu at present however the lady working on the bar advised me that this is something that they will be introducing in the near future.

On the whole we had a great stay at this hotel and would return if re-visiting the Sheffield area.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AP2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Nice modern hotel well placed on bramall lane at the footie ground.Free parking.no hassle when we were there but could be on match days.Spacious room.very comfortable bed. Everything you need from a nice modern hotel.great rate from late rooms.Excellent breakfast inciuded in rate.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is a really nice hotel, it is decorated modern and smart throughout and the bedroom we had was loevly. it was large and spacious, nice large bed, with everything you need. I dont remember seeing any tea/coffee facilities though, but im sure there was,,, also cant remember a wardrobe. free parking, easy to find and a very hany mini market over the road. stayed he for a very good rate of £45 and was well worth it! one small nag was that on booking online via late rooms, i did request champagne in the room for on arrival but this dod not happen nor was i informed that i would have to ring or request it another way, however the hotel and staff were nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneSheffield, Marketing Executive at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, sorry you didn't see the tea and coffee making facilities in your room which were inside the tall cupboard nearest your bed - and the wardrobe which was immediately outside your bathroom.
Also - apologies for any miscommunication from late rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Sheffield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Very impressed with our stay. We got a great rate on the room- £45.00 for the night. There's free parking and it's incredibly easy to find. The bathroom was clean and finished to a high standard, good shower and large sink. The room was spacious and the bed big and comfy. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was nice and a reasonable price. Only qualm with the breakfast is that if you are a vegetarian or have a particular diet then there wasn't much variety- was a typical english fried breakfast. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belleBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneSheffield, Marketing Executive at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. On your next visit please ask one of us for your vegetarian breakfast and we'll be happy to help.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely, the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing