We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good location, does what it says on the tin.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, good location, does what it says on the tin.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Everything I expected from a hotel of this ilk. Modern, airy rooms, helpful staff and a good breakfast. It was easy to find and was not far from where I needed to be. They were very helpful when I found I had arrived without my bank card too - everything was sorted quickly and easily.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Vacca,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    425
    110
    37
    24
See reviews for
146
563
69
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here 27/28 dec 2013.check-in and checkout was easy,quick and the receptionist was very pleasant.Room was a good size and had a Big bed (and comfy).staff in the restaurant and bar were very good and friendly.Breakfast was spot on. Only 1 gripe (bar prices a bit dear)but it is a HOTEL.Location of hotel is a very easy walk from city centre,Would I stay here again?? ...MOST DEFINITELY. Would I recommend IT??again MOST DEFINITELY

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Davey D,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Currently staying on business- lovely modern hotel good size rooms extremely comfy bed! Staff could not be more helpful always more than happy to help and very attentive! Food has been lovely also and prompt service! I would definitely recommend!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HelenAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear HelenAdam,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of service and hospitality.

We will be sure to pass on your positive comments on our team's friendliness and attentiveness to all of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here many times over the last few months for work and it is by far the most consistently good hotel for food, service, and room standard in Sheffield. Any issues I did have were ironed out very quickly and with great professionalism. I would happily recommend this hotel!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Donna E,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. I am particularly pleased to see that we have maintained our consistency with one of our treasured regular guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Copthorne Hotel is a good quality hotel with excellent rooms - only criticism would be that the rooms can appear quite dark but this is partly due to a bizarre light switch set up - a treasure hunt was needed to locate some of them! The bar is ok and the breakfast is very nice. I didn't order in the restaurant but they did arrange a buffet style menu for our large group of 30+ which was superb. All staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Not quite city centre but plenty of free parking and within easy walk of the centre. A good hotel

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night only for a birthday and Christmas gift, overall it was a pleasure and no faults could be found.

Location
Food
Clean
reception
staff

All great.

If my travels take me to Sheffield again I will be certainly checking in at this hotel.

Room Tip: You can walk into the centre within 10 mins or £4.00 in a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boltonfamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear BoltonfamilyUK,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you also for your positive room tip regarding the ease of access to the city centre.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Disappointed. Having normally chosen budget hotels we chose to book this hotel as a treat for New Year, unfortunately it was disappointment due to the service and attitude of staff. My partner had asked at reception if they had sold the drink coca-cola to which the lady replied "you will be bouncing off the walls" which was very insulting and inappropriate. When this issue was raised with the manager, my partner was simply told that the staff member was correct. This is just unacceptable.
The room decor was beautiful and spacious with a fridge included. There is virtually no wardrobe space in room 626, there was more room given for iron board storage.
Breakfast was beautiful, wide selection and eggs made to order. Staff service from the breakfast area are an asset to the team.
Free car parking facilities included.
From the experience from this stay I don't believe it was good value for money, we expected more from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie8921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Katie8921,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology that we have clearly not met your expectations and the inappropriate communication from our reception staff member. Please be assured that the necessary action will be taken to correct this behaviour and will not happen again.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and I invite you to contact me personally via the hotel to assist you with your arrangments.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing