We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is joined to Sheffield United Fiotball ground and we stayed on a match day . The car parking was good reception quick and easy . The room was a good size and really clean . It had a fridge . Drink prices reasonable and breakfast excellent. Only slight negative had to ask where to switch lights off !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Fell3,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

Please accept our apology for the issue with the light switches in the room. It is a design issue that we hope to rectify in the New Year. We trust that it did not overly detract from your enjoyment of the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    427
    112
    37
    24
See reviews for
146
565
69
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rosh ha'ayin,Israel
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

we had 3 nights on this hotel while having a trainning course. rooms are quiet nice, very clean , with free wifi, coffee and tea.
Breakfast was very good with a nice choice of products, lunch was with some tasty refreshments.
Service was very nice, polite and efficient.
for such trainning it was wonderful place
the only cons I have is regarding the location - there is nothing to do walking distance from it - the neighborhood is not nice at all and if you want to go somewhere at evening the only way is to take a taxi to the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Shlomi31,

Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us albeit in a location that may not have suited your invdividual needs.

We trust that this will not dissuade you from returning and we look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting Sheffield regularly on business for a couple of weeks and I was booked into this hotel only when the one closer to the client was full. I would have preferred to stay here more often.

The decor was stylish and modern, but still made me feel 'at home'. I slept very well in the king-sized bed.

There was a decent selection on the breakfast buffet. And on the evenings I could order from either menu (bar or restaurant) in either area, which meant I had a decent selection to choose from, which as a vegetarian is not always the case. The food was always well presented and very good.

The only thing they could improve would be putting wifi throughout the hotel. The Internet connections in the rooms was cable, which was fine for my laptop, but not so good for using the apps on my iPhone. There was supposed to be wifi available in the bar area, but I had problems with it. My review would have been 5 star if there had been wifi easily available in my room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank R053mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear RamblinRosemary,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your positive comments on our rooms and restaurant. However, I am very disappointed that you were not informed of our complimentary WIFI availability throughout the hotel. We recently installed this facility throughout the building with access to superior broadband services. I will have a word with our reception staff who should have informed you of this on check in.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield (WIFI included).

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After spending 8 days and nights in dirty, shabby, overpriced UK properties, this was like a castle. Everything worked and was clean to high standards. We were treated very kindly by the hotel staff, the food was excellent and the beds were quite comfortable. The location next to the stadium was so convenient and we didn't have to fuss over parking at the match. Chatsworth Castle (Mr. Darcy's home) is a short 15 minute drive and well worth the trip. We hope to stay there again someday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glpooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Pooley,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

I am particularly pleased that you were able to see one of our more famous landmarks in the peaks - and that you made it back just in time for kick-off.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great visit to the Copthorne once again - we always stay here when up in Sheffield for a match. Very comfortable rooms and good service. The buffet lunch is great value before the match and should not be missed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris270707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Chris 270707,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Thnak you for your kind comments on our pre-match meal - A win against Crewe was the perfect dessert I hope you will agree!

We look forward to having you stay with us again when you return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
744 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for a Sunday night, friendly and efficient meet and greet, hotel very quiet, free parking, room clean, a good size, warm, well equipped but dark even with the lights on. Walked back into city at night and although not threatening it was not a pleasant walk. Very good breakfast, excellent eggs bene and omelette but a useless toaster. Overall good value especially with free parking and a nice hotel but let down by it's location and we will try one of the hotels in the city centre next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear J W,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality.

I am naturally disappointed that our location affected your stay but we do hope that our complimentary parking, WIFI and quality of servcies will encourage your to return to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a two night stay fri 18 and sat 19 oct to celebrate my 50th birthday. Fri was good, room spotless all going well.
Sat night felt like a different hotel altogether. There was a noise we could not pinpoint but every time we dropped off to sleep we got woken up. This went on until 1am. The corridors are noisy and none of the doors close quietly. When I complained next morning I was told that the staff service lift was next door to our room, hence the strange noise. I was informed that this should not have been used after 12 pm.
If this had been the Premier inn we would have been refunded. The ironic thing is we usually use the PI but in this occasion wanted to go up market. We wished we had stayed in the cheaper, better option. Very disappointed. Do not get room 317.

Room Tip: Do not get 317
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMM22101963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear DMM22101963,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your stay at our hotel this weekend.

Please accept my sincerest apology for the disturbances caused by the football fans staying over for the game and utilising our bar facilities. I would like to assure you that although we do receive a higher level of patronage on football days (we are owned by the owners of the Sheffield United Football club), we do not ordinarily experience this degree of adverse affect on our residents. We are taking steps to open a specific football bar area on our first floor to dilute this effect as of mid-November. We are also implementing additional security measures to further protect our usual standards in the hotel on match days.

I do hope that my response has sufficiently reassured you of our commitment to all of our guests's interests and that you will consider returning to stay with us again when you next visit Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing