We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great quality hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my partner on Saturday 10th August for 1 night. The hotel is easy to find, and provides free car parking. Its a few minutes walk to the edge of the 'centre' of Sheffield, ie. where the shops, bars and restaurants are but this isnt a negative. Its a great base to explore the city, it really isn't far and any closer to the centre they would charge for parking.

We had room 216 on the second floor. A great double room. The ensuite's in the hotel are amazing and you can't help to be impressed. I have stayed at the hotel twice before, and every bathroom is of the same high quality. Good pressure shower, quality thick fluffy towels and steam free mirrors. I want this bathroom at home!

The bed is really comfy, although our duvet was getting a little lumpy in places. The space provided by have a desk and arm chair was great and meant neither of us had to sit on the bed if we wanted to watch the tv. The tv is a large flatscreen built into the feature wall. The feature wall is a great statement but one of the metal runners to cover the joins in the paper was missing and the old glue was visible.

There was decent coffee and tea making facilites, an iron and plenty of hangers, in the 3 built in cupboards. The books in the desk on the local area were a great addition. Me and my partner both went to university in Sheffield, and yet we still went to new places mentioned in the book, and have fell in love with a local coffee shop. We would never have found it without the book in the desk.

Overall a great stay, this is my go-to hotel when visiting Sheffield. I wouldnt stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Lucy F,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

However, please accept our apology for the minor defect in the room maintenance. Please rest assured that we have taken urgent action to rectify the media wall strip and trust that it did not overly detract from your enjoyment of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    421
    108
    36
    24
See reviews for
144
558
69
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I just wanted to say thankyou. I stayed with a group of friends last weekend and the hotel was ideal. The rooms were much higher quality than I had expected - so comfortable. It may help to point out where some of the facilities are - they are so cleverly designed, that it is not immediately obvious where the fridge and tea making things are ! Some of the sockets were in odd places too, but overall, excellent. The bar and staff were great, even on match night but the Blades won, so it wouldn't have bothered me to wait a little longer ! Breakfast excellent and good value. All in all, a great place for a group weekend away, but clearly great for individuals and business too. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear MichaelUK,

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality.

We will be sure to consider your suggestions for additional signage in the rooms and also pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband are regular visitors to the Copthorne when attending football matches. On Friday night we decided to give the Pre match buffett a go, and it was most proberbly the best value meal we have had in a long time. The presentation and choice were superb from the most beautiful salads to roast beef that was cooked to perfection , I can only comment on the beef as that was my choice but there was lots to choose from besides.If you are looking for somewhere to eat before a game give this a go , with out a doubt we will be back again. Our compliments to the chiefs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blades 1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Blades1889,

Thank you most sincerely for your positive feedback received after dining with us before the last football match at "the Lane". We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back for future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights 1st & 2nd August both Hotel & Staff throughout are of the highest standard. Sheffield United were playing at home on our second night with my husband attending the game. I returned to the hotel during the match after visiting friends and had no problem parking as I was kindly given a sticker from reception to display in the window. Most of the players were in the hotel bar after the game very smartly dressed and a credit to their club the atmosphere was great for both myself and their families. I would not hesitate to book a stay at the hotel on any match night. A big thank you for the upgrade to a Club Room on the 6th floor you made our stay very special and above all memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNIFILEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Sunifiley,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you also for your positive comment regarding the arrangements that we make for our residents when there is a match on at the stadium.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed 1 night here on 27 July when attending a concert at Sheffield City Hall and had a great time. We paid for a Club room which gave us a very good sized room with a shower room with power shower, vouchers for drinks and snacks and breakfast! We had a 6th floor room with views over the stand roof into the football stadium and of 1 of Sheffield's 7 hiils beyond. Car parking is spacious if there isn't a match on. The hotel is right on the edge of the city centre and whilst there's a few pubs in in immediate vicinity, there's a large selection of bars and restaurants in London Road 5 minutes walk away. We got a very reasonably priced taxi to trendy bustling Ecclesall Road before going to the concert. We used the bar which is informal and decorated iin a contempary style. You can tell the hotel is new and we liked it a lot. The one slight dampener on our stay was the behaviour of some fellow guests who were running up the corridor between rooms in the early hours. They clearly disturbed the people opposite who complained to reveption the morning after. The staff were apologetic but can't be blamed for the lack of consideration some guests show for others. If those responsible are reading please grow up, though if your reading age equates to your mental age, this message may be wasted!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Mackem1,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our service and hospitality standards of which we are extremely proud. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

Please accept our apology for the disruption caused by a few of our other less considerate guests. Naturally, my management team are equipped to deal with these forms of behaviour when notified and I would certainly encourage any of our guests to let us know at the time of incident to allow us to take the appropriate actions.

I do hope that it did not overly detract from your enjoyment of the hotel and that we will have opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel has a central location in Sheffield, just follow the signs for Bramall Lane.
The hotel is finished to the highest standard in the rooms and public areas. A smart investment by Copthorne and Sheffield United. The football team were staying in the hotel.
Though the level of service leaves a lot to be desired.
The bar and restaurant staff seem to be running around doing the work of at least two people. When you were served , it was very pleasant and friendly.
On my last night , the bar was struggling to complete orders due to the lack of stock, they had even ran out of lime cordial. The fact the cellar key wasn't available was very poor answer.
The food was delivered quickly and always tasted wonderful.
I am glad I wasn't staying when Sheffield United were playing at home, as the hotel uses the car park of the ground. If you were arriving on a match day , I wouldn't give much hope of getting a space or getting near the hotel in general.
I would use again but fully research the match situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niviksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Niviksters,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology for the beverage stock issues experienced as a result of an unforseen system failure. I am fully aware of the shortages that this eventuality created and regret the irritation caused.

I have also noted your comments regarding the possible congestion caused by the activities at our stadium on match days. Please allow me to assure you that while the general precinct is a lot busier, we always make provision for our non-football residents in respect of parking and restaurant facilities.

I trust that this experience did not overly detract from your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

have now stayed a few times on business this year and pleased to stay consistent experience. What is there to like? They remember what you like. - papers etc which is a nice personal touch. Have been upgraded twice . rooms are comfortable , clean with dressing gowns, water and extras. The food is mixed . he bar area is a little less formal but the menu is pretty limited. having said that my curry was great and it's quite nice to have an omelette for a change ! the restaurant is to formal and uncomfortable - not a relaxed place to eat. Lighting is low and the air con was too cold. breakfast is the usual buffet affair. not that special.
Wluld I return - yes as convenient and generally gets it right with very friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear bettybell,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments regarding the friendliness of service to all of our team members.

I have also noted your comments regarding the variety of menu items. I am delighted to be able to inform you that we have recently installed a new Food and Beverage team and we will be addressing the menu content and choice as a priority over the next month.

I have no doubt you will note the positive changes and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing