We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Sheffield”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Great Wyrley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The best of Sheffield”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Copthorne has become our place to stay when in Sheffield. It's central to everything, beautiful inside and the staff are spot on. I very rarely opt for issuing five stars to places but this hotel deserves all five. We booked room only so did not have food but there are loads of places on London Road to eat, which is only five minutes walk from the hotel, We booked on-line and got a great deal on the price too. We will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms are really well laid out and the beds are just soooooo comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamParker1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mr Parker,

Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    414
    104
    36
    22
See reviews for
140
554
68
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

stayed here for two nights staff were very good rooms very clean and spacious.booked through late rooms so very good for the price paid.would use again and would recommend to anyone.breakfast plentiful and good choice.only downside was lack off outside seating area as it was hottest day off year so far and would have been nice to relax outside but that's been petty.. overall great stay.

Room Tip: rooms at rear are best .away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullDantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Hulldantom,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. I am delighted to see that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that the lack of an outside seating area did not overly detract from your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel which includes free parking. It takes 10-15 minutes to walk into Sheffield city centre. Lovely-furnished and very clean bedroom and bathroom with plenty of room. TV channels include Sky Sports so another plus ! I asked in advance for a top floor room and I received a speedy positive response to my request. We will definitely try to stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear SandraMidlands,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochiltree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while in business in Sheffield. Good business hotel. Rooms well furnish and comfortable. Good selection at breakfast buffet.
Bonus will be for football fans - as connected to the Sheffield United football ground. On the other hand his may put - non footy - people off on match days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkkk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear mkkk64,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent visit to our hotel and I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Please be assured that we do recognise the possible impact of our football activities on our resident guests and can assure you that arrangements are made to ensure that they are not adversely affected when we host home games.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good hotel in prime location attached to Sheffield United Football Ground. Rooms as you would expect from this high end chain of hotels. Clean, contemporary.
Reception staff very helpful and friendly.
We didn't eat /Drink here as we used as a base for visiting friends and family. Situated a short walk from 'the Moor' one of the shopping areas in centre of Sheffield. A good walk to 'Crucible' or other main city centre venues. Short taxi ride might be needed.
Room 423 limited view of SUFC car park and stand roof not very exciting!
Was offered breakfast pre-book for a cheaper price otherwise very expensive. No suitable alternative available nearby. 24 hour 'corner' shop for all essential items across the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamsinglLead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear SamsinglLead,

Thank you for your valuable feedback received after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments and are delighted that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

this place was a real cool factor about it as soon as you enter, the room was exceptional and of a high quality! clean, trendy and great value for money! I got a great deal on the room but I would have paid double, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesthefirst93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Jamesthefirst93,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality and we will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here with my fiancé on 29th June 2013 and stayed in room 407, we arrived at the hotel and was greeted with a very warm welcome by the front of house staff. We the went to the room which I cannot flaw what so ever it was clean, spacious and nicely decorated and well furnished. We then went to the bar and was served by Robert who is very good at his job and exceptionally helpful, as time went on and change of shifts we were then served by rihannan who again I could not flaw and was a very pleasant and knowledgeable barmaid the drinks themselves are very well priced and not expensive at all.
We then had a trip to the town centre which is not that far away as it only took us 10mins to walk into but even thou it was busy it was still good.
We then came back and had a light snack off the bar meals menu and we ordered the burger and got to say it was very good and u defiantly get a lot for your money. We then went to the room for the night and the bed was extremely comfy and really didn't want to get out of it the following morning but we glad we did as we went to breakfast and was seated and greeted by Abbie and same again the staff was very efficient and helpful, there was a wide range of items for breakfast from different cereals to fruits and yogurts and the full English was spot on and eggs was to order which in my eyes is brilliant but there other items that weren't out but was on the menu which u could ask the staff and they where more than helpful to get for you.
Now as work in the hotel industry I have a very wide knowledge of hotels and standards and can honestly say that the Copthorne Sheffield is a very clean and well run hotel and will recommend it to anyone and will defiantly stop here again if I am ever in Sheffield again.
Regards Mr Booth

Room Tip: 407 is a terrific room and spacious bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_B00th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear David_B00th,

Thank you most sincerely for your overwhelmingly positive review of our hotel after your recent stay. I truly appreciate this magnificent feedback and will be sure to share it with my superb staff who are responsible for our levels of service and hospitality.

It means that much more when coming from a fellow colleague in the industry.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
2,225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing