We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really like this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I really like this hotel”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions. The rooms are very spacious and beds very comfortable. I have always found the staff professional and friendly. The bar area is relaxing and of course there's no charge to park your car, which is most welcome. I have no hesitation in recommending the Copthorne for both business and leisure for the Sheffield area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received after another successful stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your comments; particularly from one of our regular guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    414
    103
    36
    22
See reviews for
140
553
68
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BASINGSTOKE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for a graduation night from Uni. Got there in the afternoon and was welcomed into the hotel.

Clean, Modern, Welcoming, Perfect.

Rooms were lovely, beds comfy, bathrooms done to a high standard.

Basically cannot fault the place. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 584ChrisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback received after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for one night on business. The hotel is modern, well fitted and the service is first class. Cannot fault the place. The bar area is chilled out and the restaurant staff do their jobs with a smile and the food quality was very good. My room was large, modern and very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebaldoneontheleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable and exceedingly positive feedback received. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a first class one night stay here, very comfortable and well appointed. Nice atmosphere, enjoyed chilling in the bar area and the food/restaurant were superb. Plan to return when lm next in town! Only negative was the tiny gym with its 3 machines so gave it a miss.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonywool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Tonywool,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

Please accept our apology that our fitness room was not as extensive as you would have liked but we trust that it did not overly detract from your enjoyment of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Enjoyed a comfy nights sleep in a spacious, well furnished room. The bathroom was equally large. The bar and lounge area is a nice place to enjoy a drink and chat with friends. Free on site car parking is a bonus. Food is very good quality and the staff are all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wantadecenthotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Wantadecenthotel,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 1 night as going to a concert. Had booked fairly last minute and ended up at the Copthorne as there wasn't much else available. Was very impressed as we entered a modern clean reception area. All the staff were helpful, chatty and smiley. The bedroom was clean and spacious and the bed comfy. After settling in we went to the bar area as we did on return from the concert too. The staff on both occasions were great.
My only criticism was breakfast the following morning which is a shame as I didn't want to find any bad points here as it was so nice all round. The staff as always were nice but the English breakfast buffet was disappointing. The plates were on a stack with a warning sign of "hot plates". They were cold, as was the breakfast, not really even luke warm. Oh apart from the egg. That was hot as they are fried to order.
Anyway it was a shame but it wouldn't put me off returning and I think to be honest that this hotel would be my hotel of choice when I next return to Sheffield.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDH1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear JDH1970,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

Please accept our apology that our breakfast was not up to the usual standard. Please be assured that we will take the necessary corrective action to ensure no similar recurrence in the future. We trust that it did not overly detract from your enjoyment of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

An enjoyable stay at the Copthorne, which by the way is ideally situated if ever you need to visit Sheffield United! Comfortable, with very good service and ambience. Only had breakfast as a meal at the hotel, but that was plentiful and up to standard for a 4 star. Good facilities, and gets the 4 stars without really challenging for a 5 star rating. A solid 4 overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Dean1504<

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing