We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a "Copthorne Hotel" should look like...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a "Copthorne Hotel" should look like...”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Copthorne in Sheffield is what the Newcastle one should aspire to.
I recently stayed the Copthorne in Newcastle....That review speaks for itself.

The Sheffield Copthorne is warm, welcoming, and has really friendly staff...nothing is to much trouble for them.
Do not be put off that it forms the corner of a football stadium...I have stayed here on match nights and you would know no different...The sound proofing from the outside world is just what you need after a long day

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    425
    110
    37
    24
See reviews for
146
563
69
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a hospital appointment early the following morning so rather than travel over 100 miles early morning we decided to stay the night before. We chose this hotel for its location to the Royal Hallamshire hospital and we were not disappointed. Check in was excellent and the receptionist printed us directions to the hospital and gave us the password details for the wi-fi. The room was spacious with a settee in addition to desk and chair and the bathroom was modern and well lit. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable and we used the extra pillows provided. An iron and ironing board was a welcome addition especially if you are on business and don't want creased clothes! My only grumble is that the bedroom has energy saving bulbs so the lighting is quite dull and difficult to read by. I had a bath but unfortunately the water was not very hot although the shower the following morning was fine. I mentioned the water temperature to the receptionist on checking out and she said they would check the thermostat.
Breakfast was fine and even though I'm coeliac the selection of juices, fruit and cooked breakfast was sufficient for me.
This hotel is excellent value for money as complimentary full breakfast was included in our rate and free parking next to the hotel was a bonus as other hotels in sheffield more centrally located use an NCP car park and there is a daily charge.
We. had a 15 minute walk into the city centre and enjoyed a nice meal at a local restaurant.

If we have to return to Sheffield in the future we would not hesitate to stay at the Copthorne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

very nice hotel ,very clean ,
however ,the rooms are dim ,not enough lighting ,so if you are into some serious reading ,you wont be happy .
there is an issue regarding security ,as i woke up one night to find the key card to my room was taken . and by investigating ,the hotel staff found out that the cleaning lady took the key while i was asleep !!!!! .very strange incident and the hotel staff didnt take the incident seriously enough , i didnt feel secure the rest of the nights and i had to manually lock the door before i go to sleep each night

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amds_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Grwat hotel and excellent staff.
Had to change our train tickets to later time due to snow, offered us late check out at 6pm for just extra £30.
Great breakfast and very good room service. Thanks for making our stay special in ur hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhinav u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Others have gone into more detail so I'll just give the basics:

Pros:
- Great staff and service
- Everything is quick, no waiting around at queues for check-in or breakfast, good if you're travelling solo on business
- Rooms comfortable
- Lifts are quick

Cons:
- No wifi in rooms
- Rooms a little dimly lit
- From 11.30pm there is security on the door asking to see room keys, this is reassuring for access reasons but it's a bit of a pain if you want to just pop out to the shops and you have to ask them to unlock the door for you! Perhaps a system which uses the room card to open the main door or operate the lift would be better
- A bit of a hike from the city centre, if you are travelling around on foot

I'm going back to Sheffield in two weeks on work. Have booked the Novotel to try just for comparison.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor and it was fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gokhart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay. Hotel was amazing. The staff were so helpful and lovely. The room was gorgeous and very spacious. The breakfast was gorgeous as was the bar area and restaurant. The free car park was great. Really good location. I hope to return for another weekend break as soon as I have some spare money and will look forward to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsunsun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here after booking via laterooms.com. Usually use Jury's Inn or Travelodge but got a brilliant deal between Christmas & New year. Room was large, stylish and modern with all the facilities you'd expect for a 4 star. I would be prepared to pay full price for this hotel as was impressed by all the services. Didn't eat here as we were keen to eat out on London Road, (5min walk).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieOWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing