We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Others have gone into more detail so I'll just give the basics:

Pros:
- Great staff and service
- Everything is quick, no waiting around at queues for check-in or breakfast, good if you're travelling solo on business
- Rooms comfortable
- Lifts are quick

Cons:
- No wifi in rooms
- Rooms a little dimly lit
- From 11.30pm there is security on the door asking to see room keys, this is reassuring for access reasons but it's a bit of a pain if you want to just pop out to the shops and you have to ask them to unlock the door for you! Perhaps a system which uses the room card to open the main door or operate the lift would be better
- A bit of a hike from the city centre, if you are travelling around on foot

I'm going back to Sheffield in two weeks on work. Have booked the Novotel to try just for comparison.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor and it was fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gokhart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    421
    108
    36
    24
See reviews for
144
558
69
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay. Hotel was amazing. The staff were so helpful and lovely. The room was gorgeous and very spacious. The breakfast was gorgeous as was the bar area and restaurant. The free car park was great. Really good location. I hope to return for another weekend break as soon as I have some spare money and will look forward to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsunsun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here after booking via laterooms.com. Usually use Jury's Inn or Travelodge but got a brilliant deal between Christmas & New year. Room was large, stylish and modern with all the facilities you'd expect for a 4 star. I would be prepared to pay full price for this hotel as was impressed by all the services. Didn't eat here as we were keen to eat out on London Road, (5min walk).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieOWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Amazing hotel, service and continental breakfast. Would definitely recommend. Went for a relaxing break. Bar remained open till customers went to sleep. There was no spa or pool. But aside from that the restaurant was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naz641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Second time at this hotel for a theatre break. Excellent room at a good price. The hotel is right beside Sheff United ground approx 15 mins walk from the centre of town. Enjoyed an evening meal at a local Italian rest called Rossi's about 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMCYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our second stay at the Copthorne and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is in a great position and the views from the 7th floor are amazing! The hotel is really modern and up-to-date, and our room was spotless. The food was delicious although too small, if the portions were bigger the food would be perfect. I had to have a bowl of chips after as I was still hungry, but like I said the food was delicious. One thing that bothered me a bit was on the last night of our stay, at 3-4am the fire alarm went off for about 5 seconds which obviously woke everyone up. My mum's friend rang reception and apparently someone on a stag do set it off. I think it's such a shame that such a nice hotel has problems with some idiots that stay there, when we stayed last year there were some noisy kids in the room opposite us. I think stag-do's and stuff like that shouldn't be allowed to stay in a 4 star hotel, and that was out of order what they did, although it is in no way the hotels fault. Anyway, I had a great stay, and would definatly come here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayHun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stopped here a few times and impressed by high quality of rooms, enthusiastic staff and location.
Rooms are large and clean.
Breakfast is one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had. No skimping on the quality.
Prices are similar to Premier Inn but the experience is on a different level.
Just try it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HemperB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing