We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location, great room”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The room was of an exceptional standard, spacious, clean and of excellent decor.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't use the restaurant but the bar was adequate with normal prices that you'd expect from a 4* hotel (£3.75 pint of Becks). Bar only uses room card after 11pm (licencing laws). Car parking space was plenty and free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oggy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    425
    110
    37
    24
See reviews for
146
563
69
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at the Copthorne for one night whilst visiting my daughter at Sheffield Uni. The hotel was easy to find with plenty of parking. The room was huge and the bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in (bar my own!)
Will definitely stay again :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chariot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I wanted to organise a surprise party for my hubbie's 30th birthday. We have stayed at the copthorne before so I thought this would be a good venue for friends coming from the midlands, north west, north east and Scotland. The hotel were FANTASTIC!! Victoria in reservations could not have been any more helpful, she helped me with everything, the room bookings, the restaurant booking, coordinating menus and ensuring notes were on the file so the surprise wasn't given away at check in. We have organised table decorations and the hotel set all that up for me, and we even found our balloon displays back in our bedroom after our night out!
The rooms were great, big and very comfy!! They lack wifi and I hope the hotel invest in this soon, as wired Internet is no use for an era of iPads etc. Late check out at 12pm is amazing compared to the usual 10 / 11 am.
The restaurant was fab- we had a three course meal and everybody raved about the food. Really high quality and tasty. The chef did great and all 15 of us were happy! He even made my hubbie a surprise cake which was very sweet and generous. The restaurant manager was great all night, really looking after us and the staff were ver flexible and professional.
Hotel is located well in Sheffield, and a free car park outside is handy. 24 hour shop next door too!
What can I say? Thanks a million to the outstanding copthorne Sheffield for taking customer service and showing us how it's done

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vixster722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Saturday 27th October of to see Heaven 17 @ the 02 Carling Academy
Hotel & car park inside Sheffield Utd ground the free parking a big bonus luckily Sheffield Utd not playing until Monday so there was no need to remove my Nottingham Forest sticker from my back window !
Hotel very smart & modern the room & bed was massive with desk fridge internet connection tea & coffee making facilities & a big TV it was a very cold day & the room was lovely & warm (did see a comment about the lack of plugs they where incorporated into the end of the desk )
Easy walk into the city centre one straight road in about 20 minutes , finished up in the hotel bar later that night but no cash after 11pm its charged to your room , they will ask you if you intend to use this method this when you check in , there was quite a midnight queue of residents now deciding to use this method of payment , best nights sleep I have had in years the bed that big I got lost , & the clocks went back an hour while we where there ! We was first down for breakfast , buffet style every breakfast item available.
All in all for £64 for 2 the hotel was excellent value & I will be staying again soon .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radfordred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Copthorne hotel is situated a stones throw from the blades stadium, certain rooms have a full view of the pitch. The room was exquisite and the staff were rely helpful. The bed was the comfiest I have slept in and was a really relaxing night sleep, pure bliss!
The only downside is the location in that it is too far to walk to the town centre in the cold evenings and there s nothing around in the local area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOracleofAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights, absolutely perfect in every way. So quiet in bedroom, brilliant food in restaurant and incredibly good value, great quality food, beautifully presented, and service excellent. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy_fletcher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Take a torch ! the lighting - both in the rooms and in the dining area, is terrible.

Other than the bathroom, you will be squinting to see anything.
Anyway, overall, this is a good hotel. Great staff and the breakfast is excellent.
Comfy bed and nice bathroom.

Get some lights.

Room Tip: The higher the better for road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing