We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room ok Staff?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Room ok Staff?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here on saturday for one night to celebrate my partner's birthday in Sheffield.
Staff - Could do with a smile on their faces, looked like they didn't want to be there.
Room - Clean, shower was hot and powerful but pillows were too hard, woke up with a sore neck.
Breakfast - Enjoyable with good variety.
Location - Perfect for city centre shopping and dinning.
Overall - I will stay agin mainly for the location.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysInnTeam, General Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your recent experience at Jurys Inn Sheffield. I am very sorry to hear that we didn't meet all your expectations this time. Your comments about our team members have been shared with my management team to ensure this doesn't happen again.I am glad to see that all other aspects of your stay was good and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Jurys Inn in the near future.
Kind regards
David Livingstone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    747
    293
    90
    52
See reviews for
338
498
125
579
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
174 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at the Jurys Inn for a night before a conference. The hotel was easy to find being just a 5 minute walk from the city train station.

Check-in was easy, and I was allocated a room on the 8th floor.
The room itself was OK - neither spacious nor small. Medium to firm bed. Reasonably clean room.
A couple of gripes were in the bathroom - the tap was dripping and should have been clearly evident to housekeeping. And there were spots of mould on the ceiling bathroom. Both minor maintenance issues that hadn't been dealt with proactively by management.

A number of the conference attendees were staying at the hotel, and as the weather outside was wet and cold we opted to stay in the hotel for drinks and dinner. A group of 16 of us descended upon the hotel restaurant. The menu choice was a little limited - about 5-6 options each for starters / mains / dessert, if you had specific dietary requirements your choice might have been quite limited. And a few of the options on the menu only had a few servings left.

The food, when it turned up, was served - for some dishes - on odd slates and other "fashionable" plates. Portions were on the small side, leaving some of the party hungry. Perhaps it's a way of upselling a desert?

However the speed of service was quite terrible that evening. There was a 40 minute gap between starters and mains, on both starters and mains one member of the party was left waiting for their food for a lot longer than others. Staff were apologetic, but there was little they could do to bring us the food from the kitchens quicker.

As a hotel there were a couple of minor maintenance issues that should have been dealt with proactively by the management, and they need to look out for this.

But if the service we experienced in the hotel that even is anything to go by the service will disappoint. There was nothing "wrong" with the food when it turned up, but portions were very much on the small side.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysInnTeam, General Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your recent experience at Jurys Inn Sheffield. I am very sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations this time. Your comments have been shared with my management team to ensure that the issues you raised are resolved.Please fell free to contact me if you would like to discuss your experience further. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Jurys Inn in the near future.
Kind regards
David Livingstone
General Manager
david_livingstone@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

No problems at all with this hotel. Everything was great. Only small quibble was the bar prices. Expensive, but we expected them to be. You either pay the prices or there are plenty of pubs and bars nearby. Service was excellent, as was cleanliness.
The deal we got for bed, breakfast and evening meal on the first night was definitely great value for money.
We would stay again and would recommend to anyone needing a hotel in Sheffield.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minibookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysInnTeam, General Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Jurys Inn Sheffield and for taking the time to review your stay.
It is a pleasure to read such lovely feedback and I will ensure your kind comments are passed to the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Jurys Inn in the near future.
Kind regards
David Livingstone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Location: Short walking distance to Sheffield Hallam University.
Breakfast: Reasonable price, varied and delicious.
Staff: Great, friendly, efficient and helpful with directions and taxis. Arrived before check-in time (transatlantic flight) but room was ready.
Room: Exactly as described online. Double/Single for 3 adults.On arrival not enough towels, coffee, etc. Spoke with staff and requested additional pillows, coffee, etc. All supplied immediately and daily thereafter. Highly recommend - will return when in area again.

Room Tip: We always request a high floor. We were on 9th Fl. Very quiet. Windows faced street. When closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exuma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysInnTeam, General Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking time out to write about your recent stay at Jurys Inn Sheffield. It is so nice to see that you had a great experience with us and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Jurys Inn in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Livingstone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here for a friends birthday, it's exactly what we needed!

Room was a standard size, all very clean, the bathroom all clean and fresh, shower nice and powerful - certainly no complaints here! We had a few drinks in the bar, service was good and prices were reasonable. We parked just across the road at Euro Park which was £6 for 24 hours which i thought was reasonable.

The hotel was great value for money and perfect for a group of friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysInnTeam, General Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for taking time out to share your experience at Jurys Inn Sheffield. I am delighted to see that you had such a positive stay. I will make sure to pass on your comments to the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Jurys Inn in the near future.
Kind regards
David Livingstone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Things that was wrong..

The shower was broke, there was only one coffee, all the rest was decaf, just one toilet roll, and there wasn't much left on it!! The water & ice machine in the hall was out of cups! The room was very dim, the lights are not very bright,

Good things... Friendly staff, nice breakfast, good location, nice & warm rooms, lovely stay x

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flashbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysInnTeam, General Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your recent experience at Jurys Inn Sheffield. I am very sorry to hear that we didn't meet all your expectations this time. Your comments have been shared with my management team to ensure this doesn't happen again. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Jurys Inn in the near future.
Kind regards
David Livingstone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as two couples on New Years Eve...
Rooms were fine,double bed could have been a king size!!!
Clean and central and the breakfast was really nice buffet.
Downside....very noisy until the early hours!! I understand it was NYE and a student city but where was the security???

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HacheyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysInnTeam, General Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your recent experience at Jurys Inn Sheffield. I am happy to see you enjoyed the facilities and the location suited your needs, although I am very sorry to hear that we didn't meet all your expectations. Your comments in relation to the noise have been shared with my management team to ensure that the issues you raised are resolved. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Jurys Inn in the near future.
Kind regards
David Livingstone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Sheffield

Property: Jurys Inn Sheffield
Address: 119 Eyre Street, Sheffield S1 4QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Sheffield 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Sheffield is ideally located in the heart of Sheffield, just a short 10 minute walk from Sheffield train station and a short 5 minute walk to the Devonshire Quarter featuring a plethora of bars, restaurants and galleries. The hotel is also within a short walking distance from Sheffield's many hidden gems - stop by the famous Granelli's Sweet shop, marvel the beautiful architecture of Sheffield Town Hall or relax at the Peace Gardens - all within an easy reach of the hotel. For those exploring the stunning Peak District countryside - the hotel is only a 20 minute car ride. If you are attending an event at the famous Crucible Theatre or the thriving O2 Academy Sheffield - both venues are within 10 minutes walk of Jurys Inn Sheffield. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. You can also catch up on some workout time in our onsite cardio gym. If you are arriving by car, parking is available at the nearby APCOA Moor Car Park on Eyre Street. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Sheffield with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Jurys Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Jurys Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing