We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing setting but terrible management.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foxholes Farm Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foxholes Farm Cottages
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing setting but terrible management.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wedding August 2013.

Foxholes certainly provided us with a spectacular spot for our wedding but Rachel’s management from start to finish was terrible. As a couple looking for a relaxed wedding we found she was the main cause of our wedding stress.

We were sold a wedding which was billed as flexible and relaxed, a wedding tailored to your own needs, however as soon as we’d paid the deposit it all changed. We met Rachel several times in the School Rooms café which she also owns. On every single occasion she was late and often did not apologise. We were never offered a drink and always had to buy our own. On one occasion she did not turn up and had emailed on the day to cancel rather than phone. As we were at work we did not read that email till after we were supposed to meet. She also didn’t turn up to meet us as arranged at the venue. This meant we had to look round the marquee when someone was setting their wedding up which we found embarrassing as they had not even been told we were going to arrive. We were the second group on that day!

A couple of key features of the package as described in the brochure changed after we had paid the deposit. Rachel then expected us to accept all these changes with no consultation and without feeling the need to inform us. These changes included; changing the caterers for our wedding from the in-house caterers the Schoolrooms to Hazels (at the time an unknown company to us), removing the flexibility to run our own bar and the time our wedding had to finish. In fact if we had not saved the original brochure and been able to prove that this was originally offered Rachel would not have allowed us to use a different company to provide the bar.

In addition, verbal agreements made in early meetings were not honoured. This led to us feeling we had to email her immediately after each meeting to confirm what has been discussed; thus illustrating the total lack of trust we had in her. With regards to changing the agreed time our wedding had to finish, this was a licencing issue out of her control but which she chose to inform us of via email an hour after we had met her and discussed the times. We have no doubt this was because she did not want to tell us in person she could no longer honour the terms of our agreement.

After several meetings which followed this pattern we wrote to her to express our concerns. We explained in detail why we were not happy and that the management had left us feeling angry, frustrated and anxious about our wedding. The unprofessional reply did not acknowledge any our concerns, let alone offer an apology. It merely stated that we were one day late with our second instalment.

When we went to review the marquee prior to the wedding we also raised a number of concerns, in that the outside of the marquee was dirty and had not been cleaned after erecting. We also noted that the flooring was not the same as the brochure and was very uneven with some trip hazards.

The day before the wedding as we arrived at Foxholes we noticed they had started to set up their bar and when we mentioned this to Tom, the onsite manager, he was unaware that we had previously agreed to have our own bar. This was then later questioned by Rachel over the phone who tried to deny we had made this agreement and that we should have their bar. This, the afternoon before our wedding was a further stress we didn’t need and another example of the lack of professionalism.

We must note that Tom was very amenable and a pleasure to have around whilst setting up the venue the day before.

On the night of the wedding Rachel’s husband arrived and told our DJ to turn the music down to a level which was far too quiet to be conducive to a party atmosphere. He then returned later in the evening and did the same. This interference was unacceptable on our wedding day and the music was not at an excessive volume in the first place.

We were delighted with the food and service from Hazels from the outset. We were somewhat anxious when first going to meet them due to the situation Rachel had put us in, but they instantly put us at ease and we were relieved that it was part of the wedding we did not need to worry about. Everyone commented on how nice the food was and the staff were amazing with nothing too much trouble, we could not recommend them enough!

The accommodation is slightly tired but we knew this prior to booking and so can’t complain about this.

As a side note Rachel did mention that her friend got married at Foxholes shortly before us and so wouldn’t be surprised if one of the exceptional reviews is by them.

The location is amazing with spectacular views and we had an amazing day but would have serious reservations about recommending it due to the management. We could have coped with the disorganisation (although not a desirable attribute in someone who runs a wedding venue) but it was the fact that Rachel was rude and made it clear that she did not care about maintaining good customer relations we which found unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LukeChurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    5
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. Amazing location good attractions and lovely walks. Found the area beautiful.
However apartment 8 has box heating red hot in the day but you cannot turn them off . The shower was mouldy and shower curtain horrid. I know its near fields so a mice eating my toddler's cake was ok. Could not get in touch with owners . Left messages they did not reply. The washing machine is coin operated and broken so if you're staying awhile bear in mind. There are no signs telling you this. No wifi nor signal either. I wil, accept it was very rural.You can get signal from laundry room.
Overall lovely position needs some improvements and owners need to answer their phones

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank islandbeautyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Foxholes Farm Cottages, responded to this review, August 24, 2016
Thank you for your comments regarding our beautiful location, we are lucky to be located so close to the breathtaking scenery which can be enjoyed on muddy walks around Dam Flask, Dale Dyke (famous for the tragic Sheffield Flood), Strines (handily located close to the Strines pub for a perfect pint and packet of crisps). Often it is difficult to receive phone messages from the guests staying in cottages due to our rural location and the fact thathe offices are also located in Bradfield and so we ask guests to try to make use of the wifi provided at Foxholes Farm to enable rapid response by the team by email to address problems, unfortunately this is not always read in the welcome information provided to guests, and this can lead to frustration for guests, since this reviewers stay we are pleased to report that we have made the advice in relation to this more user friendly so that guests spot this fact on arrival. we apologise for the uninvited guest in the cottage, we do engage the services of a professional pest control contractor and consequently the incident was swiftly dealt with by that firm on our behalf following departure of the guest. There is a payphone facility provided in the laundry room for the use of guests and we understand that the guests did make use of this during their stay. We apologise for the inconvenience caused in the non operational laundry equipment experienced by this guest during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We got married at FoxHoles on the 3rd May 2014 and had the most wonderful day. We paid £4,750 which included the use of the five cottages for the weekend, the marquee and unlimited camping for our guests. To our surprise the marquee was brand new for 2014. It is beautiful, with ivory linings inside and has windows all along one side which enabled our guests to see the whole of Bradfield valley. We were lucky enough to have a lovely sunny day and the marquee on it's own worked extremely well. If you are looking for a venue where you would like to do a lot of things yourselves and have a really personal, local, country feel then this is perfect for you. For example, we decorated the marquee on the Friday and could spend the whole weekend with family who had visited from afar and were staying in the cottages. All our guests were extremely happy with the accommodation and commented on what a beautiful wedding venue it was. Since we booked FoxHoles, Rachel and John did everything to support us and to make sure things ran smoothly for us on the day and in the months leading up to it. They were really accommodating, meeting with our caterer, DJ and aspects of the day we wanted to do ourselves. From our own experience, if you are holding your wedding reception this year at FoxHoles then you are in very good hands!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GJ0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding, we were in cottage 6 downstairs, 2 rooms and large sofa bed. Was worried about size going by others reviews say but place was nice and big. No seats to sit outside and look at the views. Visited plough for tea was fantastic, massive portions and cheap compared to other places. In laws stopped in room above the double and single, this was not as cosy, Lino floor throughout. Steps are steep for elderly, Try to get number 6. I would stay again. Not going to comment too much on wedding. as guests we loved it but I believe bride and groom had to do it all themselves which seems to be the theme of other reviewers. Bar staff and food lovely, warm with heating on. Rest is do it yourself or pay lots extra for other things. (Table clothes£150) then not even enough for all tables!.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stiny1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We held our wedding at Foxholes Farm in April 2013 and can honestly say it was the best day of our lives! this venue is perfect for the type of wedding we were looking for, basically a day we could put our own stamp on. We got to decorate the marquee on Friday evening and put in aour own flowers, decorations and bunting. We had the whole weekend here (included in the wedding package), we paid £4750.00 for the use of marquee, 5 holiday cottages and unlimited camping for our guests for the whole weekend and think that was reasonable for what we got. The staff could not have been more helpful, thank you Tom- who is the manager! Hazels Catering from Sheffield catered for our wedding and we had a delicious bbq which they cooked in front of our guests. The sun shone all day long so we could have the marquee sides rolled up to enjoy the views all day long.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudehealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked a two room cottage for a two day break - the accommodation was excellent and very comfy and cosy. The cottages allow fantastic views across the valley to High Bradfield - an excellent pub (The Old Horns) provided a wide range of food and beer choices at very reasonable prices!
The cottage had obviously been recently refurbished - very comfortable beds! The only 'downside' was the lack of mobile phone coverage, although a pay phone is available.
Overall, an excellent venue for people who love walking - easy access to the Derbyshire countryside - and only a short drive into the Sheffield city centre for those who like shopping, restaurants and theatres.

Room Tip: Contact the owner directly, as we were able to negotiate a two- day stay, rather than the minimum 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenoldies4751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our wedding was at Foxholes Farm on 30th March 2013. The Saturday before the wedding 18 inches of snow was dumped on Sheffield. Rachel was amazing, she phoned me on the Monday and said that we needed a 'plan b' for parking as the field where cars normally go would be covered and the road where cars go if the field is inaccessible was so banked up with snow that parking wasn't possible. She suggested our guests parked in Low Bradfield and even found a mini bus to shuttle our guests to and from Foxholes. She didn't need to do any of this but she did, without us asking which relieved a great deal of stress during an already busy week.

The day before the wedding Rachel's team had to clear a huge amount of snow before they could put the marquee up, which they did, and we still had access at the time agreed.

On the day of the wedding the marquee looked spectacular, and exactly as we'd hoped. It was also lovely and warm despite the sub zero temperatures outside due to the huge blow heater they have. The staff were fantastic, very efficient but laid back and attentive.

I don't know if Rachel has invested in a new marquee since the previous reviewer had her wedding but many of our guests commented on how fabulous it was, the lining is beautiful, the wooden floor a really nice touch. we couldn't have asked for more.

Finally, a comment about other people coming to look round. Rachel told us that she would be doing viewings on the Sunday morning which we were fine with. The point is that the marquee only ever goes up when there's a wedding so other couples need to come and see it when they have the chance. Them being around didn't stop us from doing anything and it was actually quite nice to think that there would be other people who would enjoy their special day in the same place as us. The point of the marquee is that it's a blank canvas, it's up to you to make it what you want.

In the 15 months I was dealing with Rachel she always responded to my emails quickly, was happy to talk through the details as many times as I needed and gave me some really good ideas on how to make sure the day ran as smoothly as possible. My one regret is that we can't do it all over again.

Room Tip: There isn't good mobile reception, that's because you're in a rural location - it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beadup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
6.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
5.5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
6.1 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
6.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#24 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxholes Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxholes Farm Cottages

Property: Foxholes Farm Cottages
Address: Fox Holes Farm Hoarstones Road | Low Bradfield, Sheffield S6 6HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Foxholes Farm Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet hillside in the Peak District overlooking Low Bradfield enjoying magnificent views across the Doomsday villages, Foxholes Farm was built in the 19th century and includes a Grade II listed castellated folly. The main courtyard has now been transformed into five peaceful holiday cottages sleeping from 2 to 23 people. We also offer a bespoke wedding venue for 15 very special marriage celebrations each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Foxholes Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing