We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing service!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cross Scythes Totley
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is definitely a fantastic place to stay; the staff is attentive and goes above and beyond to satisfy your needs. They have an excellent selection of food and beverage. Their rooms are tidy, clean, and have beautiful patio terraces where you can enjoy your meals in private if you like.

Just as an example, I left my computer charger in the room, and they kindly offered to send it to me overseas. I suspect most wouldn't even bother to get in touch. The Cross-Scythes is northern hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenerpasture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

I maybe a little biased as this is my local, but this for me is the best pub/ restaurant in Sheffield.
Firstly, they always have a god selection of hand pulled on show, but the Moonshine is the best one.
The food menu has just changed and is excellent. I have had the pork grill a couple of times and both times it has been excellent.
The burgers are a must and at least 60% of the menu is either gluten free of the dish can be converted to GF.
Stuart and the staff are great and the service s exceptional.
If you live nearby t is worth looking at getting the loyalty card as it offers great value for money.
All in all great place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grover46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We gave visited twice before and the last time I was concerned that the standard had dropped from our initial visit; this time it was awful. The menu has changed and is not as good, bland found not worth the tag of sheffield's best gastro pub. I had the sausage casserole which was insipid and watery.Found large sheets of gelatine in daughters pud not nice. Will not return.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Phod10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Came here as a family group - chose this pub as it was a short distance away en route to the peaks. It wasn't busy at all inside which was a surprise considering it was a very wet and rainy weekend - we now know why!Very disappointed with the food - chips were grey...as were the peas. The pie tasted OK and was packed with filling, but didn't look appetising at all - presentation on all dishes was very poor. Would be better off serving small minature pies rather than a wedge. The rib eye steaks were the best meal out of the group and decent value. Desserts were hit and miss - avoid the rasberry and shortbread at all costs! Just looked like leftovers....a pile of broken biscuits with a few rasberries thrown on top!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank CJ7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I travel for business frequently and prefer places where one can meet the owner and be given quality food. This is a large and quite traditional pub with an all open plan bar and restaurant area. There is a section that is served mor formally and tends to be quieter. So for the business traveller it is the type of place you can relax, chat if you want to and enjoy good food. The rooms are quiet and have a good outlook. Some have a balcony you can walk on to. Bathrooms are clean and have good showers. There is a large private carpark to the rear. The entire place is well kept up and well run. Staff are friendly and energetic. Breakfasts are cooked for you and served as quickly as you need. I will always stay here when working in Sheffield.

Room Tip: Room one has a balcony, good in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

6 meals ordered for lunch today. Only 2 were eaten. The bean casserole was horrendous. Mainly tasting of vinegar. It had old yellow broccoli in it. Bulked up with bread and poor quality roast potatoes. The fish platter was rubbish. Again bulked with bread. The fishcakes were grim. On complaint we were offered the option to order something else but after facing that number of inedible meals we declined. No money off bill. Never going there again. Shame.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We only stayed at the cross scythes for a night however it was superb. The room was lovely the food was great and the pub itself was excellent. Really lovely fresh cooked breakfast in the morning. It is fairly close to the shopping centre well within an acceptable time. Beware of the trams though when your driving around!!! I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Sheffield. It is literally a 2 minute drive before you are in the peak district. Chatsworth house is a must see for a day out.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms but they all have balconies we had room number 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
4.1 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
246 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#25 of 53 in Sheffield
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#7 of 53 in Sheffield
779 reviews
11.1 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
274 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Scythes Totley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Scythes Totley

Address: Baslow Road | Totley, Sheffield S17 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $67 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross Scythes Totley 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the peak district and 15 minutes from the city center. All rooms are en-suite double rooms and a home-cooked full English breakfast is provided at £6 per person. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cross Scythes Totley Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing