We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not cross but happy.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cross Scythes Totley
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Not cross but happy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great value hotel run by enthusiastic staff team who seem to aim to please whenever they can.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, fine for a one nigh stay. This pub is nicely furnished, with tasteful furniture and decor. The location is also good. Centre of Sheffield is a half hour bus ride away and you are just on the edge of the Peak District National Park.

Breakfast is very good with a good choice of dishes. It is an additional £7 but good value at the price, and up to the standard of breakfasts in much more pretentious or expensive places.

The pub has a nice atmosphere with a good range of real ales including Timmy Taylor's and other local guest beers.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 are furthest from the road but passing traffic is not really a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    35
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
59
64
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
457 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a review of the food and not of the accommodation at The Cross Scythes. We had lunch here earlier in the year and decided with 4 friends to have dinner. I have to say we all thoroughly enjoyed our food and the menu had something for everyone - it was good to be able to have the smaller portions or light bites. The place has a nice ambiance and we all commented on how well trained and friendly the staff are. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay at The Cross Scythes, Totley immensely and we will definately be back. My husband was exhibiting his art at a local art gallery, Smart Art Galleries of Totley and they recommended and booked the hotel for us. They could not have chosen better!
The hotel from the outside is charming, quaint and oldie worldie. Inside the hotel there is a very warm welcome awaiting you, a really nice atmosphere and a recently refurbished stylish interior.
Check in was swift and we were shown to our room. The room was lovely, excellently laid out and very clean.
The staff were all very friendly and professional. The food was first class.
It was way more than good value for money! Highly recommended and that's something coming from me, I'm quite fussy about hotels as I usually only stay in hotels with at least 4 stars and am an ex hotelier myself.
Well done to all at the Cross Scythes, a marvellous team!
Looking forward to our return visit!
Thank you!

Room Tip: The hotel has 4 rooms and they are all located on the same floor and next door to each other, we fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here on 28th April for a 1 night stay as we were attending an Art Exhibition close by. As soon as the taxi pulled up we were "wowed" by the beautiful building. We were met by the most pleasant friendly bar staff who really couldnt have been more welcoming. We were taken to our rooms and was more than impressed with the size,layout and view. Beamed ceilings,spaceous bedroom and bathroom. The room had tea, italian coffee,biscuits etc very well stocked. What i would like to say is that the staff were truly the outstanding, every member of staff whom we spoke to or had a service from was excellent. They are all a credit to the hotel. This stay was very memorable and it deserves all the credit. Well done to a lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnrep77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked the restaurant for a family reunion dinner and four of us stayed at the hotel. The whole experience was excellent: good food, service and atmosphere in the restaurant and comfortable rooms which were very good value. We particularly liked the provision of cafetieres and real Italian coffee in the rooms! The breakfast was hearty and cooked to order - so much better than standing around on hotplates.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed one night as attending a wedding locally. The room was spacious with ensuite shower and kettle. The balcony would be lovely if we'd had chance to use it. Breakfast was a cut above the average with big cooked breakfast or tasty alternatives like a plate of warm danish pastries. All of this for just over £50 per night was a bargain. Will definately return if we get the chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2. Friends stayed in room 4 that was smaller but still had a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just stayed the night at the hotel with family. Lovely hotel, excellent atmosphere and very attentive staff. The food was outstanding - one of the party enjoying a 20oz T-bone!!! The choice of wine was excellent - we enjoyed particularly the white Rioja and a red Malbec.
The accommodation was very comfortable and clean - breakfast was relaxed and leisurely. Considering the quality of everything the price was very reasonable especially when compared with a trendy restaurant in Sheffield that we ate at Friday evening.
Michael and Abby made a good team - thank you for a lovely evening.

Room Tip: Small hotel think all rooms probably the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.6 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#25 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
4.1 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#32 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
4.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Scythes Totley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Scythes Totley

Property: The Cross Scythes Totley
Address: Baslow Road | Totley, Sheffield S17 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross Scythes Totley 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the peak district and 15 minutes from the city center. All rooms are en-suite double rooms and a home-cooked full English breakfast is provided at £6 per person. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cross Scythes Totley Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing