We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Nice”
Review of Barnfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnfield House
Ranked #2 of 32 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Extremely Nice”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this delightful B & B and it was more than we expected. Nicely decorated room, very comfortable, superb breakfast...we couldn't have asked for more. Helen was warm, friendly, and served us well. We even got to bird watch a bit during breakfast in the roomy and pleasant dining area. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2travelCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
94
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I hadn't visited this area for many years and didn't know what to expect;
The property is just on the edge of Sheffield about 10-15 mins drive.
The property is on a hillside overlooking beautiful countryside.
The room was large, equipped with everything one is likely to need and in excellent decorative order; the owners obviously pay attention to fine details as I do myself and I could not fault any aspect of my stay.
The breakfast was also of a very high standard, probably the best I have had st a B&B.
I only wish I had booked a longer stay.
Great food and beer at The Old Horns Pub in the next village down the road too!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Having seen the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor for Barnfield House, it appeared an obvious choice for my business trip to Sheffield last week. I stayed there for four nights and it can be summed up in one word - Perfect. I stayed in a room called Robin of Loxley. Here are my thoughts: friendly and helpful hosts, huge and comfortable bed, ultra-clean, excellent en-suite, pretty views, great extras such as chocolates and plentiful tea/coffee facilities in the room, superb breakfasts, very quiet, handy for Sheffield and the Peak District National Park. Also, as a keen birdwatcher, breakfasts were entertaining as the birds are fed immediately outside of the dining room window and you'll easily see a dozen species including plenty of Tree Sparrows which are now rare or absent from much of the UK. What else could you possibly want? Oh, and all this comes at a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: All rooms should be quiet. My room, called Robin of Loxley, had lovely dual aspect windows and was h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyRomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Recommended to stay here, along with other members of my family (20 - 85 age range) for a nephews wedding. From a great welcome, to the quality of the room, to the freebies, to the peace and quiet, to the great breakfast choice (not cheap own brand rubbish, but obvious quality products served well), to the weather (ok I lied about that bit!). Secure parking, wi-fi, and chocolates in the room - excellent stuff.
Will be visiting again as I was just so impressed.
Thanks for the team for a great break.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, well decorated, with good country views. 4 different rooms booked with no compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Found on Tripadvisor so took all the reviews and booked . Wonderful welcome , room quite enchanting - came away with Teddy Bear - slept well and enjoyed tasty breakfast . Suited all our needs to be close to Sheffield Hospitals. Stunning views and the sun shone ! We will be returning .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlkj1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed two days at Barnfield House recently and must endorse the very positive earlier reviews.
The rooms are spacious, well furnished and well equipped including flat screen TV, bathrobe & slippers, tea & coffee making facilities. Our room had a great view over the green fields and rolling hills. And everywhere immaculately clean - rooms, bathrooms and all public areas. Comfortable bed and a separate shower cubicle in the bathroom, in addition to the bath, that provided an excellent shower.
Extensive choice for breakfast, quality food expertly cooked. Delicious.
Add a friendly welcome and service and you have the perfect recipe for a relaxing break.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
246 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

An excellent base for our visit to Sheffield. Just 6 minutes drive from the city centre yet located in the Yorkshire countryside with stunning views over the rolling hills. Parking was easy (and free), Helen made us feel very welcome without being overbearing. My wife and I took a double room and we put our son (with us for a uni graduation ceremony) in a single. Both rooms were modern, clean and spacious with double glazing and en-suites. Bathrobes and slippers were supplied, unusual for a B & B but probably an idea nurtured from our hostesses training years with the Marriott hotel chain! Both rooms enjoyed the lovely views. Breakfast....tops! Continental, full 'Yorkshire' or both! Our table had a direct view onto the bird table outside which was just 3 meters away and very busy with a variety of visitors. My wife, a keen bird watcher loved this, and there was even a garden bird identification book left on the table for the less knowledgable bird watchers to check identifications!
Unless you really need to be in the town centre, this is a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
4.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
4.1 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
994 reviews
3.3 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
3.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,121 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnfield House

Property: Barnfield House
Address: Loxley Road | Loxley, Sheffield S6 6RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and first class hospitality await you at our luxury guest accommodation. Uniquely located in the beautiful surroundings of Loxley Valley on the edge of the National Peak park, yet only minutes from the vibrant city of Sheffield - Barnfield House really does offer the "best of both worlds". Our award-winning breakfast menu is bursting with high quality local produce to give our guests the best possible start to the day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barnfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing