We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place, lovely people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent place, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed 27/4/13 on visit to see my son. Usually stay in city centre but all booked due to Snooker/Boxing and found this hotel by accident. Only 6 miles from city centre. Set in beautiful countryside. The couple that run the pub are lovely, genuine people who couldn't do enough for us including providing very comfortable camp bed for my son who decided to stay with us at the last minute! Great food, clean comfortable room, what more do you nee? Thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josavLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
The pleasure was all ours. so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
27
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went out for a Sunday Meal, with Family Relations. First Choice, Full. Went up the Road to Dungworth. Blackboard with Specials. Plus another Menu. Decided on Large Yorkshire Puddings. Two with Beef Stew. Two with Pork Sausage. Both come with Mash & Gravy. Very Nice. Plus Good Bradfield Brewery Beer. Which was Well Kept. Friendly Service. Nice Country Side Views. Enjoyed.

Room Tip: Lovely Area. Out in the Country Side. Would be Nice in the Summer. Car Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOMYNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your selves. The large Yorkshire puds go down a treat, however 1 is usually too much for me as they are large.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This pub is very well run by the family that owns it. All the staff make you feel welcome. All beers and lagers are kept well never had a bad pint. Every Saturday night every table get a free plate of sandwiches. If you have never been give it a try you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_wall134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
many thanks for your kind words it makes it all worth while. I will pass onto dave regarding the beer, he is very particular about how good it should be and if the beer is remotely cloudy will return it to the supplier. We don't only have free sarnis on saturdays but also sunday and also for the monday fun quiz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great Hotel with really nice staff and family vibe to the place, Nice and snowy when i visited and probably a great place to go hiking from. Food at the bar was really good and very reasonable price wise. The room was fine a good size and the bed was comfy. Its a short drive from Sheffield town center but a very nice place and peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Ben thanks for your kind words. If it is peace and quite you want and a traditional pub that is us in a nut shell. You will have to come again in the summer and try out some of the walks, it can be very beautiful and tranquil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This good old fashioned pub in a beautiful location is highly recommended. The accommodation is very clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent and plentiful with a good choice of fresh local produce offered and cooked to order at your preferred time. Nothing is too much trouble for these hosts. A very enjoyable overnight stay and we intend to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gt74lufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
glad that you picked us for your over night jaunt out, hope you enjoyed your trip to the dogs as much as your stay with us. where possible we try and source our food locally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We regularly stay here as the hotel is in a picturesque countryside location but very close to Sheffield. The rooms are warm & cosy with lots of homely touches to make your stay very comfortable. The owners are always welcoming & the pub has a great atmosphere. The breakfasts are excellent. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here & enjoy the hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks sally, really lovely having you stay and the pooch too. We also love the quiteness of village life and are glad you like it. The locals aren't bad too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

A genuine old English pub run by helpful, friendly hosts who provide home cooked food and a good standard of accommodation at very reasonable prices. Dogs are made extremely welcome too and we felt very much at home and relaxed. The selection of well kept local real ales is fabulous and the home made pies are delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back in the summer or autumn.

Room Tip: Only three rooms - ours (and that of our friends) was warm, cosy, clean and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
many thanks nigel, so glad that you and your friends enjoyed yourelves and our hospitality. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
5.0 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
3.8 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Main Road | Dungworth, Sheffield s6 6hf, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a family run pub. On the edge of the Peak District, high on the moors, northwest of Sheffield but only a 20-minute drive from the city and Meadow Hall shopping centre. Its location makes it the ideal place for visiting the area or for those that want to stay longer but not wanting to stay in the hustle bustle of a city. Owners David & Linda Lambert and Dave & Joanne Jubb offer all guests a warm and genuine welcome. For all you business people that want a homely feel look no further. We now offer free Wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing