We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, once again”
Review of The Cricket Inn

The Cricket Inn
Ranked #323 of 1,453 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Cricket Inn, a warm welcoming pub nestled near the village of Totley. Starting it's life as a farmhouse and became a pub when the Totley train tunnel was built in the 19th century to shorten the distance to Manchester. It is currently run by chef Richard Smith and Thornbridge Brewery under the BrewKitchen group. Our resident in house Chef has been able to bring his Portuguese flair to the pub and has created some amazing and sumptuous dishes that suit all the family. We are proud to produce a range of events at the Cricket Inn and offer Real Ale Nights, a Gin Menu as well as the chance to hire the venue for a party or celebration. Quality is what we aim for so why not pop in and say hello and tell us what you think here!
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good, once again”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great food and extremely friendly and professional staff. This is a marvellous setting for a hot summers day with the kids, they can run around playing with the other kids to their hearts content. The menu is very interesting and they have some lovely specials, especially if you like fish. Only thing I would change is how the food is presented, I ordered a pie etc and the pie came in one bowl, my veg in another and a gravy boat all on a wooden server, bit too much and would rather have had a plate but hey ho, if that’s the only thing it can’t be bad, it was packed full of tender meat. Not only would I recommend this place on a summers day but the interior is all very clean and well maintained, they even have a large table in the rear room in case you wish to take a large group.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    104
    60
    55
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely food, excellent beer”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Cricket Inn in Totley has a rural setting and busy'gastropub' interior. The Thornbridge ales are excellent. We had the portugese pork stew (the chef is portugese) which was excellent - loads of meat and very tasty served with crisp green veg and (overdone) garlic toast. Puddings weren't as big, relatively, as main courses but the Yorkshire curd tart with nutrmeg ice cream was good. Will be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgwswth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bowled over by the Cricket Inn”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

You just know when a pub gets it right and they have most certainly got it right at the Cricket Inn.

I went for lunch with a client over a year ago and had been promising to go back since. Then, when a birthday loomed it gave me and my wife the perfect excuse for a long lunch.

We kept things very simple and both went for the set 2-course meal at £12.00 and a bottle of very decent house white (£14.95). We both had the prawn starter and both went for fish and chips. The food was delicious and the portion size perfectly ample; the service was attentive and professional, although I still don't like to be asked more than once if 'everything is alright'. In fact, I would prefer to be presented food that didn't require any post-deivery enquiries about how we were finding it, but this is knit-picking.

The interior of the pub feels like an authentic inn that has been sympathetically refurbished. The flagstone floors and real open fires add a rustic charm, but the designers have avoided the falling into the trap of over-designing the rustic look to the point of pastiche. The toilets, the real barometer of where a place sees itself in the market place, were contemporary and stylish, and spotlessly clean.

It was a memorable birthday lunch and I will endeavour to visit the Cricket again before the earth completes another circuit of the sun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeDrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service, good food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Poor service on two separate occasions, tables not cleared properly, waiting forty minutes between first and second course.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lesley298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food does not reflect the price that you pay”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited in a large group eight adults seven children and one infant.
The service was good and met our requirements.
The children ate from the childrens menu, which resulted in a few disappointed children when it came to desert. They ordered ice cream when it came it was a very smaller than average scoop with sauce and marshmallows. When the bill came we had been charged for the childrens items separately rather than a drink, desert and main meal for a fixed price - this was rectified when it was pointed out.
We could highly recommend the meat pie, the fish pie was lacking in fish ( this was changed for a meat pie ). The tempura prawn and squid salad was disappointing as it was in batter not tempura, and the salad did not taste dressed.
The deserts were not the best the rhubarb and apple crumble was overwhelmed by cinnamon and there was not enough crumble or custard. The praline artic roll and coconut ice cream - has been tried but won't be tried again.
My final winge is the lack of diet sugarfree drinks available.
We would return but it would not be our first choice as there are much cheaper but quality eateries in Sheffield.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hvlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cricket Inn also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Cricket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing